R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: doin the things we love to do (and surviving too)  (Read 4981 times)

typek

doin the things we love to do (and surviving too)
« on: July 01, 2010, 05:28:12 PM »

I'm a recent Audio Engineering/Production grad... I found a niche in corporate AV (my day job) but still am hanging on to the idea of making my living tracking/mixing records. As of right now I have been focusing on freelance gigs that I find by word of mouth and networking... I work out of whatever studio we can get into based on the bands budget..usually in the Boston area..

How did you guys start your career working with music?

Thinking about moving out to Nashville (i have some fam out there) and hitting it hard... I know a couple of you guys are based out of TN...   How's the competition for hungry, hard working assistant engineer's? And what kind of pay rate are these guys getting?

Those of you who aren't in Nashville, I welcome your thoughts too.  

grantis

Re: doin the things we love to do (and surviving too)
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 06:11:17 PM »

typek wrote on Thu, 01 July 2010 16:28

How's the competition for hungry, hard working assistant engineer's? And what kind of pay rate are these guys getting?

It depends on what you want to do.  True "assistants" in the traditional sense can make between $8-11 an hour, and a lot of the work is watching/taking notes.

And those jobs are hard to find......

Maybe 'fierce' is the wrong way to describe the competition in the engineering field in Nashville, because most people act like professionals and treat others well in this town, but there is NOT much room the spare in the market for more engineers.  You may have a tough task getting started at first.