R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Can 2 U87s That Are Pretty Close Be Matched By A Mic Tech?  (Read 15659 times)

Mark Lemaire

Re: Can 2 U87s That Are Pretty Close Be Matched By A Mic Tech?
« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2010, 02:26:01 AM »

Quote:

You may be able to match the mics, but so what? You will never be able to match the acoustics. Those spacing differences will create far larger response variations than any mic to mic differences.

If you record orchestras and choirs (what I do for a living), a slightly un-matched pair is not very useful except to use as spots on different things- that is, I use them seperately, NOT as a pair. The distance from the orch makes the stereo pair's exact matching quite relevant.

If, on the other hand, your typical use might be close miking an acoustic guitar, miking two singers doing duets, etc, etc, then I agree that the differences between the different mikes are dwarfed by the different sounds that come off an instrument at close range.

Mark Lemaire

http://www.myspace.com/MarkLemaire

http://www.rubatorecording.com/
Audiophile recording of your music. Anywhere. Anytime.

Stephen Andrew Bright

« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2010, 12:14:14 PM »

It is my understanding that you will never get a closely matched pair using mics made 10 years apart. Aside from the age difference in the capsules,  the parts in the mics are likely to be different as well. My suggestion is to sell the one you don't like as much and look for another one made in the same year as yours. At least then you will be working with the same components.

I have actually built matched pairs of vintage Schoeps mics on eBay several times by finding consecutively serial'd mics from different sellers on different continents.

Stephen

Mark Lemaire

« Reply #17 on: June 07, 2010, 04:53:44 PM »