R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: micing a drum kit with 002 rack?  (Read 1850 times)

Max Foreman

micing a drum kit with 002 rack?
« on: July 28, 2004, 11:41:57 PM »

I'm looking for a D/A converter. I'm looking at the Digi 002 rack, but it looks like it only has four mic inputs. I'm a beginner in digital audio, so forgive me if this question sounds silly, but is there a way around this? Should I scrap the Protools LE system and get a MOTU 828? Are the mic pres on the 002 rack any good?
Max Foreman

debuys

Re: micing a drum kit with 002 rack?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2004, 12:27:17 AM »

I think what you mean is that you are looking for an fire wire audio interface, A/D D/A converter and preamps or an all in one box.

I'm fairly sure the Digi 002 includes 8 analog inputs with pre's on 4 of them so in order to mic 8 sources at once you'll need 4 more pre amps. The pre amps included on the MOTU unit and the 002 are comparable. The ones on the 002 are focusright low end....in other words on the level of a Mackie or similar calibar budget mixer.

Personally if I was to start over I'd get the 002. It's hard to beat 8 analog, 10 digital ins and outs, midi, software and a controll surface all in one. To illustrate here's what I got 6 years ago:

Layla $900
Alesis 12R $300
Cakewalk 7 $250
Snakes to conect Layla and mixer through inserts $80

That's $1530 that became a money pit since it all got replaced.

Certainly in 6 years the 002 might be obsolete from a marketing perspective, but if it still does a good job who cares. My original rig just kinda sucked.
Robert de Buys
Dreamcatchers
1818 28th Ave
Homewood, AL 25209

Max Foreman

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2004, 12:47:15 AM »