R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hip Hop Mastering  (Read 4440 times)

illynoise

Hip Hop Mastering
« on: August 02, 2004, 06:39:44 AM »

Hi all, I'm new to this place.  

I have a hip-hop based studio, I've been producing this kind of music for about 15 years, so I'm not the normal "kid" with fruityloops deal here.  I've recently mixed a project at my studio and I'm trying to get a sound that I've heard on projects like Dr. Dre" and "G-Unit", which were mastered by Brian "Big Bass" Gardner.  Now I have done quite a few refs from all of these songs and then tried to put them into the software to see if it's going to be possible to get a good master from my mixes.

It seems to be likely that a master engineer would have success at being able to get these songs to that level.  

My question is:  Is there anyone here who has that kind of mastering experience with big hiphop groups?  If so, what are you charging and when are you available?

I still have everything, done in Logic, on the hard drive, but like I said I think that most of the mixes are ready.  If you hear these CD's that I'm talking about especially the "G-Unit" CD it's very loud and yet it's like there is still a little bit of headroom.  That's what I'm going for.  And the Bass is BUMPIN!

Any ideas and help is much appreciated!

BaseJase
illynoise

Ed Littman

Re: Hip Hop Mastering
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2004, 09:28:22 AM »

I'm sure every list member has done hip hop.

Ed

bblackwood

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2004, 09:32:51 AM »

illynoise, if you truly like what Brian Gardner is doing, you should call Bernie Grundman Mastering and find out what kind of rate you can get from them for BG to master your stuff. Don't try to emulate, get the real thing. If he's too expensive, then you can look to others...

My .02, fwiw.
Brad Blackwood
euphonic masters

jazzius