R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?  (Read 5765 times)

dietrich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 315
What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« on: March 09, 2010, 09:43:17 am »

Not talking the end convertors, just which pci, firewire etc box you are using to connect to your DAW.

My BLA modified MOTU is having issue and time for replacement.

D

bblackwood

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7036
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2010, 09:46:21 am »

RME here, zero issues in 7+ years of use.
Logged
Brad Blackwood
euphonic masters

Sonovo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 267
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2010, 10:55:02 am »

Firewire (Sonic Studio model 305).

Stable & solid. Sounds great, too!

Thor
Logged

jdg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 950
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2010, 10:55:24 am »

RME HDSPe.

best thing evar
Logged
john mcCaig
-Mothery Earworks Clarifold Audipure

Peter Beckmann

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 434
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2010, 10:56:05 am »

Going in/out hardware is PCI Protools HD3



Peter


Logged
Peter Beckmann
Technologyworks
http://www.technologyworks.co.uk

cass anawaty

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2010, 10:58:13 am »

Lynx AES16 (2)
Logged
Cass Anawaty, Chief Engineer
Sunbreak Music, LLC
High Resolution Stereo Mastering
www.sunbreakmusic.com

MASSIVE Mastering

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 604
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2010, 11:53:10 am »

Another Lynx AES 16 channel.  
Logged
John Scrip
Massive Mastering - Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.), IL - USA

crna59

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 277
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2010, 12:16:50 pm »

Pyramix/Mykerinos MADI



Regards,
Logged
Puget Sound Studios
Bruce A. Brown
Mastering & Post Production
Seattle, WA

It is easier to ask for forgiveness than to ask for permission! Buy! Buy buy....  

livingstone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 118
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2010, 12:20:08 pm »

weiss afi1 here, rock solid  Razz
Logged
frederic alstadt
www.angstrom-mastering.com



__________no time_______no sound_________

dietrich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 315
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2010, 01:02:40 pm »

thanks for input.

ggidluck

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2010, 02:08:15 pm »

RME HDSP Multiface. Rock solid performance. Free DigiCheck application. If you have firewire, then the newer Firewire 400 or 800 might be a good one.  
Logged
Gordon Gidluck
http://live2496.com

dcollins

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2815
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2010, 03:01:52 pm »

RME and AES16.


DC

Tim Boyce

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2010, 04:07:11 pm »

RME DIGI & ULN8


my Digicheck isn't DSP it runs natively .. it's been acting up lately. Like it doesn't want to share the driver? It get's a weird garbled sound if I open it after I've already got an app open ... but if i open it first, they can play nicely?

I bet everyone else is using newer cards, but just figured I'd mention it in case anyone has run into that problem.

hnewman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #13 on: March 09, 2010, 04:14:11 pm »

jdg wrote on Tue, 09 March 2010 10:55

RME HDSPe.

best thing evar


Do you have any experience with their standard PCI card?  I'm about to by a second one, trying to decide if there's any reason to enter the realm of PCI-X (other than future obsolesce worries)

urm eric

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 164
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2010, 07:07:50 pm »

hnewman wrote on Tue, 09 March 2010 15:14

jdg wrote on Tue, 09 March 2010 10:55

RME HDSPe.

best thing evar


Do you have any experience with their standard PCI card?  I'm about to by a second one, trying to decide if there's any reason to enter the realm of PCI-X (other than future obsolesce worries)




RME AES 32 (on the Sequoia machine). No problems at all (Sequoia didn't like the Lynx).

Cheers,

Eric
Logged
Philosophers Barn Mastering
www.phibarnmastering.co.uk

djwaudio

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 263
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2010, 07:48:09 pm »

Does RME make a stereo I/O card anymore?  I'd love to have something that does up to 192 on AES or SPIDF. My Lynx one only goes to 96, but I don't need a multi-channel card.
Logged
Respectfully submitted,
Dana

Dana J. White
specializedmastering.com



TotalSonic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3728
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #16 on: March 09, 2010, 08:00:08 pm »

On the send end for my "playback" DAW I have an older Lynx One where I just use the AES out (which goes up to 24bit/96kHz).  What I like about this is that the sample rate of the card locks to whatever I set my DAW to - so if I have a session where I've received tracks at many different sample rates it's no hassle to have the whole digital output chain (SAWStudio -> Lynx One -> ZSys 8.8 router -> Lavry Blue DAC) lock to the sample rate set just once at the DAW.  It also has MIDI i/o on board which is useful to me as I hook my CM Motor Mix to it so I can control the playback DAW's transport and fader even when I have my "capture" DAW displayed on the screens they share via KVM.   I see them on ebay for about $250 or so - and as such they offer good bang for buck.  If you don't have a regular need to output at 192kHz (and to date no one has ever supplied me with 192kHz session files) then it's still a good workhorse for the mastering studio imho.

For my "capture" DAW I use the SSL/Sydec Mixtreme 192 which is capable of 16 channels digital i/o via 2 TDIF cables.  I have this tied to a (now discontinued) Apogee Soundscape 896i/o which has 8 channels each of AES/TDIF/ADAT digital i/o, as well as still decent sounding Apogee AD & DA.  While I usually just send via AES to this from my Mytek Stereo 96ADC, if I need to do an 8-channel transfer I can do it, and use a couple of the channels of DA to send to a pair of meters as well.  The Mixtreme is capable of very low latencies, and has really nice virtual routing options allowing you to easily send audio streams from one application to another without having to connect real cables as well, so it comes handy for my rare production chores as well.  

Obviously both of these cards are on the end of their support life spans and are not representative of the "latest and greaters" - but since they both work great for my needs, and have well developed solid drivers, I have no plans to change them for something else currently.  I've been using the Lynx One for 6 years now, and the Mixtreme 192 for 5.

Best regards,
Steve Berson

jdg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 950
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #17 on: March 09, 2010, 08:39:23 pm »

hnewman wrote on Tue, 09 March 2010 13:14

jdg wrote on Tue, 09 March 2010 10:55

RME HDSPe.

best thing evar


Do you have any experience with their standard PCI card?  I'm about to by a second one, trying to decide if there's any reason to enter the realm of PCI-X (other than future obsolesce worries)




the PCIe card is just a same thing, but with PCIe interfacing.. and about 500bux more.

i would have gotten a PCI one, if i didn't only have PCIe slots.

Logged
john mcCaig
-Mothery Earworks Clarifold Audipure

ggidluck

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #18 on: March 09, 2010, 10:25:20 pm »

djwaudio wrote on Tue, 09 March 2010 18:48

Does RME make a stereo I/O card anymore?  I'd love to have something that does up to 192 on AES or SPIDF. My Lynx one only goes to 96, but I don't need a multi-channel card.


Not really. With RME you would get something that supports a whole lot more. Then just use the SPDIF connectors if that's all you need. But that would be expensive for just digital I/O.



Logged
Gordon Gidluck
http://live2496.com

jdg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 950
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2010, 10:42:17 pm »

closest thing to stereo RME card is the AIO:

http://www.rme-audio.de/en_products_hdspe_aio.php
Logged
john mcCaig
-Mothery Earworks Clarifold Audipure

TotalSonic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3728
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #20 on: March 09, 2010, 10:57:40 pm »

djwaudio wrote on Tue, 09 March 2010 19:48

Does RME make a stereo I/O card anymore?  I'd love to have something that does up to 192 on AES or SPIDF. My Lynx one only goes to 96, but I don't need a multi-channel card.


They're slightly harder to source outside of the EU - but the Marian line offers a number of different AES i/o cards ranging from 2 to 8 channel that all support up to 192kHz -

http://www.marian.de/en/products

Best regards,
Steve Berson

Alécio Costa - Brazil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 791
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #21 on: March 10, 2010, 12:30:37 am »

PT HD Accel 2  - PCI E
192 I/O Digital sends and receives signal.
Logged
Alécio Costa Studio
High-end Mastering, Music Production
http://www.aleciocosta.com

Listen to my album at:
http://www.audiostreet.net/aleciocosta

MySpace:
http://www.myspace.com/aleciocostamasterizacao

Jerry Tubb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2761
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #22 on: March 10, 2010, 12:54:34 am »

On DAW #1 it's a PT HD rig, out via AES port on the Digi 192.

On DAW #2 it's a Lynx AES16e to capture in sB and output to the monitor DAC.

As a backup, I've got an old Digi 002 hooked into my Z-Sys router/format converter.

JT
Logged
Terra Nova Mastering
Celebrating 20 years of Mastering!

twelfthandvine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #23 on: March 10, 2010, 01:38:12 am »

RME as well.  Zero issues.

Paul Blakey
Logged

Thomas W. Bethel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1811
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #24 on: March 10, 2010, 07:43:29 am »

RME and Lynx. Both work GREAT!
Logged
-TOM-

Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Tomas Danko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4733
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #25 on: March 10, 2010, 12:18:44 pm »

I'm on RME Hammerfall DSP both PCI and PCMCIA (PS Bus Card), interfacing to Multiface and sometimes Digiface.

The most rock solid, low latency and worry free I/O ever. I've stopped looking past RME for this.
Logged
http://www.danko.se/site-design/dankologo4s.gif
"T(Z)= (n1+n2*Z^-1+n2*Z^-2)/(1+d1*z^-1+d2*z^-2)" - Mr. Dan Lavry
"Shaw baa laa raaw, sidle' yaa doot in dee splaa" . Mr Shooby Taylor

dietrich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 315
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #26 on: February 04, 2011, 08:22:49 am »

Adding RME AIO pci-e card for aes over current interface.


Has anyone heard the DA convertors on this one?
Curious how compares to the Avocet which I should have coming in a few weeks

Jerry Tubb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2761
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #27 on: February 04, 2011, 03:24:10 pm »

Oops double post.
Logged
Terra Nova Mastering
Celebrating 20 years of Mastering!

Andrew Hamilton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 573
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #28 on: February 04, 2011, 11:26:26 pm »

Motu (PCI-424/308 (:G5)); Sonic (HD-3/A (:G4));
RME (DIGI_96/8 (:P4) (+Pro  (:G4)))

         



Andrew


Logged
www.serifsound.com
premastering for CD and DVD-A.  Featuring FTP load in and delivery as well as analog tape transfers.

Bob Weston

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #29 on: February 07, 2011, 03:55:56 pm »

Sonic (metric halo) 304 on the Mac
RME on the PC

bob weston
chicago mastering service
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up