R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bleed...  (Read 1259 times)

Bo

Bleed...
« on: July 14, 2004, 12:11:16 PM »

I've decided to ask this of several forums...

your opinions on bleed?

I just tracked a singer/songwriter in my ghetto-fabulous home studio (yeah, I'm an amateur) and he likes to play & sing at the same time. So, I threw up 3 mics: one ldc for vocals, one sdc on the acoustic, and a dynamic up in the corner (w/ the phase reversed).
Yeah, it bleeds all over the place, but we were going for a live performance type of feel, ala pedro the lion or iron & wine. Does this annoy you in mixing; or in the right situation, do you embrace it? I just started mixing last night and find both good and bad things...

what have you experienced in the world of bleed?
"knifing prostitots - one at a time"

Stavross

Re: Bleed...
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2004, 03:14:28 PM »

There's nothing wrong with a little bleed, or is some instances an awful lot of bleed. It all just depends on what kind of feel you're going for. Hell I've been known to record acoustic and vox on the same mic while drums are in the room.

The old adage always holds true, if it sounds good, it is good.

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning". - Rich Cook

MedicineDog

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2004, 12:52:25 PM »

In general, bleed is a good thing.  Makes for a less steril sounding record, IMNSHO.