R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Digi 002 external clocking issues.  (Read 3211 times)

Andy Meyer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Digi 002 external clocking issues.
« on: September 18, 2009, 03:04:18 pm »

I am attempting to clock my digi 002 via lightpipe to my RME ADI 8 DS.  The rme and digi clock just fine at 44.1k but when I switch to 48k I hear a ton of pops mixed with intermittent audio.  I believe that I have all of the connections correct and that my cables are in working order.  Anybody have some insight?
Logged
Andy Meyer
Seesaw Recording Company
www.seesawrecordingcompany.com

Bill_Urick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1626
Re: Digi 002 external clocking issues.
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2009, 10:07:16 pm »

Try switching the 002 clock to internal, then back to ADAT whenever you change clock freq.

Just a guess.
Logged
Good sense is, of all things among men, the most equally distributed; for everyone thinks himself so abundantly provided with it, that those even who are the most difficult to satisfy in everything else, do not usually desire a larger measure of this quality than they already possess.

Andy Meyer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: Digi 002 external clocking issues.
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2009, 01:26:17 am »

Thanks Bill,
I have already tried that with no success. Has anyone else had this problem or know of a solution?

Andy
Logged
Andy Meyer
Seesaw Recording Company
www.seesawrecordingcompany.com

Bill_Urick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1626
Re: Digi 002 external clocking issues.
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2009, 06:25:12 am »

Can you clock to S/PDIF?
Logged
Good sense is, of all things among men, the most equally distributed; for everyone thinks himself so abundantly provided with it, that those even who are the most difficult to satisfy in everything else, do not usually desire a larger measure of this quality than they already possess.

Andy Meyer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: Digi 002 external clocking issues.
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2009, 01:13:51 pm »

I have an Apogee Rosetta AD connected  S/PDIF at the moment. Today I can try clocking off the Apogee and see if the RME will follow suit.  The digi 002 has never had a problem clocking from the Apogee.
Logged
Andy Meyer
Seesaw Recording Company
www.seesawrecordingcompany.com

maarvold

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 853
Re: Digi 002 external clocking issues.
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2009, 10:23:20 pm »

Everything I've ever heard or read about deriving clock from lightpipe has not been good.  The best way I ever heard it explained is that clock should be supplied by a "disinterested 3rd party"--meaning a device that is only supplying clock.  I also have run into problems clocking from any cable that is also carrying digital audio (like an AES pair); I wouldn't be surprised if this is also true of lightpipe.  
Logged
Michael Aarvold
Audio Engineer

Andy Meyer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: Digi 002 external clocking issues.
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2009, 02:47:10 am »

I ended up clocking the system to the apogee with success. Thanks guys.
Logged
Andy Meyer
Seesaw Recording Company
www.seesawrecordingcompany.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up