R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down

Author Topic: No Digi on the showroom floor  (Read 9687 times)

BiasRocks

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
Re: No Digi on the showroom floor
« Reply #45 on: September 10, 2009, 11:42:24 pm »

compasspnt wrote on Tue, 08 September 2009 19:21

I
And what about overdubbing once the basic track is cut...?

The native system was simply unusable for both of those scenarios.



It can be done.

That particular native system was not usable, but I wouldn't be too hasty to paint all native systems with that brush.

I routinely record/overdub/mix on a totally native system here, Samplitude in my case. I can track through a plug-in without issue, as long as it's fairly low latency. Overdubs with a loaded up native mixer @ 24/96kHz is also no problem.

My system is rock solid with an Apogee AD16X front end, I've invested the time to make it a totally stable system.

Mark

compasspnt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16266
Re: No Digi on the showroom floor
« Reply #46 on: September 11, 2009, 03:59:42 am »

Understood, and "Well done you."

But in our client world, we have no room for "...as long as..."
Logged

BiasRocks

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
Re: No Digi on the showroom floor
« Reply #47 on: September 11, 2009, 11:10:59 am »

compasspnt wrote on Fri, 11 September 2009 03:59

Understood, and "Well done you."

But in our client world, we have no room for "...as long as..."



Understood.

Cheers.
Mark

compasspnt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16266
Re: No Digi on the showroom floor
« Reply #48 on: September 11, 2009, 01:05:12 pm »

Understanding understood.

With respect.
Logged

Fletcher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3016
Re: No Digi on the showroom floor
« Reply #49 on: September 16, 2009, 08:44:11 am »

compasspnt wrote on Fri, 11 September 2009 03:59

Understood, and "Well done you."

But in our client world, we have no room for "...as long as..."



If I'm not mistaken [hopefully Sean or Adam can pop on and confirm or refute this] there is a function in Logic that permits you to "monitor input" [just like on a tape machine] when you're doing overdubs.

It might just be with Apogee converters [which is what is used at The Meth Lab] but if I'm not mistaken it is a part of the Logic software.

I'll pop Adam / Sean an email so they can confirm [or refute] this impression.
Logged
CN Fletcher

mwagener wrote on Sat, 11 September 2004 14:33
We are selling emotions, there are no emotions in a grid


"Recording engineers are an arrogant bunch.  
If you've spent most of your life with a few thousand dollars worth of musicians in the studio, making a decision every second and a half... and you and  they are going to have to live with it for the rest of your lives, you'll get pretty arrogant too.  It takes a certain amount of balls to do that... something around three"
Malcolm Chisholm

Tomas Danko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4733
Re: No Digi on the showroom floor
« Reply #50 on: September 16, 2009, 11:14:39 am »

Fletcher wrote on Wed, 16 September 2009 13:44

compasspnt wrote on Fri, 11 September 2009 03:59

Understood, and "Well done you."

But in our client world, we have no room for "...as long as..."



If I'm not mistaken [hopefully Sean or Adam can pop on and confirm or refute this] there is a function in Logic that permits you to "monitor input" [just like on a tape machine] when you're doing overdubs.

It might just be with Apogee converters [which is what is used at The Meth Lab] but if I'm not mistaken it is a part of the Logic software.

I'll pop Adam / Sean an email so they can confirm [or refute] this impression.


You can do this in Logic regardless of interface. You can also set up nifty splits in the older versions of Logic and do something similar with pretty latency free results (audio interface permitting).

There's also a record mode where it kills plug's temporarily if they are the culprits.
Logged
http://www.danko.se/site-design/dankologo4s.gif
"T(Z)= (n1+n2*Z^-1+n2*Z^-2)/(1+d1*z^-1+d2*z^-2)" - Mr. Dan Lavry
"Shaw baa laa raaw, sidle' yaa doot in dee splaa" . Mr Shooby Taylor
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Up