R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 3M M79 anyone?  (Read 7989 times)

Tom Van Den Heuvel

3M M79 anyone?
« on: July 09, 2004, 11:56:11 AM »

Hey Fletcher (and everyone else reading)

A guy in my area is selling an old 3M M79 2"24tr for about 2K,
I know it hasn't been maintained in perfect working order as the seller told me he did no recap job on it since he bought in 1996, that's a bit scarry but the price leaves room for some tech work...
I've never worked on a M79 before, i just know not all techs will do the job.
Any opinions?
Thanx!

TOM

Rail Jon Rogut

Re: 3M M79 anyone?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2004, 03:37:35 PM »

The 3M79 is a very simple machine to work on.. your concern should be the wear on the heads... and finding spare parts like pinch rollers.

The other thing to check is that the 3M79 didn't do Input Switching - so they've all been modified to do switching.. some mods weren't that great.

Rail
Recording Engineer

www.platinumsamples.com

Engineered Drums for BFD & Superior Drummer 2.0

drumsound

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2004, 03:57:21 PM »

A $2K M79 will cost you more than $2K.  Any machine for that price is priced that way for a reason.  I don't care what name is on the front.  

mcsnare

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2004, 11:55:29 PM »

An M79 is not a tape machine, it's a commitment, a way of life. I've owned 3 of 'em. PM me if you REALLY want to know.
Dave McNair

Erik

« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2004, 07:23:25 PM »

They're great machines.

Recapping is not a major concern.

The most valuable part of the machine, like all the old machines flying around, is the heads.  Get a head report from www.jrfmagnetics.com and see how much useful life they have on them.

A $2000 machine with shot heads is no bargain.  A $2000 machine with 90% heads can be futzed with with part time for three years -- then just the heads can be sold for profit.