R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: soundcraft 800B  (Read 2034 times)

zywot66

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
soundcraft 800B
« on: March 07, 2009, 12:16:48 PM »

hello, thanks for any help. i am using a recapped 800B. the aux master #1 level is always pegged through the roof. it just started and its like its oscillating. i tried resetting the op amps in there seats but no good. what other methods could i try to fix this.

sorry for being short on the explanation of the symptoms

mg
Logged

ssltech

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4780
Re: soundcraft 800B
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2009, 04:11:05 PM »

Scope, and trace it backwards. -Where it stops... You've found the problem.

That really is the only way that I know of.

You say "re-capped". It sounds ominous the way you include that particular piece of info, like you mean "this happened when it was re-capped"... In which case it's probably whatever mistake was made when the re-capping was done... which nobody may be able to predict.

If it's not coincident time-wise, there's probably no connection.

Keith
Logged
MDM (maxdimario) wrote on Fri, 16 November 2007 21:36

I have the feeling that I have more experience in my little finger than you do in your whole body about audio electronics..

zywot66

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: soundcraft 800B
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2009, 07:06:01 PM »

thanks for the advice keith. today i switched op amps out on that master from another aux master card i have and problem went away. guess op amps go bad
Logged

compasspnt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16266
Re: soundcraft 800B
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2009, 03:00:32 AM »

Opamps can go bad.

Guess you'll just need to keep moving the good one to where you need it.
Logged

ssltech

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4780
Re: soundcraft 800B
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2009, 08:35:50 AM »

Coming soon to Fox video special...

When op-amps go bad!!!

Yes. -It happens. Also, dodgy soldering anywhere around the inverting input/negative feedback path can cause that sort of thing.

Sounds like you've sorted it though.

Keith
Logged
MDM (maxdimario) wrote on Fri, 16 November 2007 21:36

I have the feeling that I have more experience in my little finger than you do in your whole body about audio electronics..
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.033 seconds with 17 queries.