R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Treating a room - tell me where I'm screwing up!  (Read 4010 times)

Skullsessions

Treating a room - tell me where I'm screwing up!
« on: March 09, 2009, 10:05:00 AM »

I’m new to this particular forum, so let me introduce myself.  I’m James Hook out of Houston, TX.  I’m a singer and guitarist, but I love the other side of the microphone more.  Being single with no kids – and planning to stay that way – makes it pretty easy for me to do what I want with the house.

Attached is an overhead view of my current situation.  My living space is where I set up shop for mixing, and is currently/largely untreated.  Tracking room is the master bedroom down around the corner – which is not on this drawing.

As an extension of another thread over at Whatever Works – where I discussed my self-diagnosed weaknesses in my mixes – I’ve started buying materials and drawing up plans for getting my mixing room more under control.  Specifically, I have a hard time properly hearing low end without the aid of a sub.  Even then...still not accurate.

I’m looking for feedback and ideas to improve this room, so please chime in!

BTW.  Ceiling height is 8”, and the floors are hardwood.  Other

1:  Should I be using the OC 705 @ 4” for the corners in red, or will the 703 @ 4” be workable?

2:  On the wall/ceiling bass traps (bright green), should I be using 705...and if so, would 2” be acceptable?  What are your thoughts on the 2” 703 for this function?

3:  Below all of the bright green squares, I plan to put 2’x4’ wall panels made of 2” 703.  This will leave about 3’ of bare wall down to the floor.  There will be couches and comfy chairs spaced around the room that actually cover that portion of the walls.  Your thoughts?

4:  The wall panels.  Should they be flush, or out away from the wall a couple of inches?