R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: How do you "sell" the mix?  (Read 5588 times)

weihfool

How do you "sell" the mix?
« on: June 29, 2004, 05:45:32 PM »

I'm currently in the mixing phase of a project with a band I've never worked with before this project.  We've just begun the mixing and they had a few pointers for me to keep in mind so as to not veer off in the wrong direction (they're not present when I mix..... how joyous my life can be).

The leader/alpha male/singer of the band, upon hearing his vocal up a bit higher than the rest of the tracks asked me "You're not going to leave that like that, right?  Like, you're going to do stuff to make it sound "not so raw", right?".  To which I commented, "of course, dude.  I will make it sit nicely amongst the rest of the tracks".

Now, this guy has some SERIOUS confidence issues with his voice and I know he wants me to slather his tracks up with delay, 'verb, flange, and whatever else I can put on there to make it NOT sound like he actually does.  The problem is that kind of treatment of his vocal won't fit the songs or the vibe of the band.  

Now, I put forth my question to all of YOU engineerin' types:  

How do you sell the band on the mix you've done?  

How do you go about convincing the timid singer that his tracks should be up where they're clearly audible and convince the bassist that putting a stereo panning delay on his tracks is a BAD idea (unless, of course, you want something like that).

I usually will explain why I did the things I did and then give them the changes they ask for.  Usually, we wind up coming back to what I had handed them in the first place.  

So how do YOU handle it?

redfro

Re: How do you "sell" the mix?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2004, 10:25:47 PM »