R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: making my own replacement samples  (Read 2841 times)

Doc Roc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 115
making my own replacement samples
« on: February 06, 2009, 04:02:20 pm »

I'm using Cubase 4 on a PC. I'm new at making samples (ie. never done it before). How do I do this? Basically, I want KTDrumTrigger using Halion One to trigger my own short wav file of a kick, snare, etc. Let me know if I'm being too vague. Thanks for any help,
Logged
Ross Neptune
Noise Gate Audio Production Services
Denver/Boulder
www.noisegateaudio.com

wwittman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7712
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2009, 12:32:48 am »

You record the sound (e.g. the bass drum)

you adjust the start and stop point by selecting the region length that you want (so it starts right on the transient and lasts as long as you want)

then you consolidate the region so that the truncated region is its own audio file

if you are already recording as .wav files, then you're done.

if not, export the audio file as a .wav


Cubase may have slightly differing names for these ideas (consolidate or export file) but the ability has to be in there under whatever name.


Logged
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...)

compasspnt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16266
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2009, 10:14:32 am »

101.
Logged

Doc Roc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 115
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2009, 02:26:02 pm »

Yeah, I know how to make the actual sample.  I guess my question then should be rephrased to say, How do I target my own wav file (ie. sample) using KTDrumTrigger through Halion One in Cubase.  I don't know much about MIDI and/or MIDI mapping.

Essentially, I want to reinforce a drummer's kick and snare hits with a cleaner hit of his own kick and snare to help normalize the levels and allow for less HH bleed (in the case of the snare) but still retain his kick/snare sound.  

Thx!

So yeah, it is 101, but MIDI 101.  I don't pretend to know the slightest thing about MIDI (I understand some basic concepts just not the application).
Logged
Ross Neptune
Noise Gate Audio Production Services
Denver/Boulder
www.noisegateaudio.com

wwittman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7712
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2009, 11:03:54 pm »

I don't know your specific software,
but eh idea of midi triggering is basically that the midi note 'plays' a sampler (either in hardware or software)

so you KT drum trigger serves to detect each snare hit (for example) and generate a MIDI note each time it sees a hit.

you then use that midi track to tiigger Halion (the sampler) to play the sample you choose on each midi trigger.

forgive me, if you already get all that

can you get it to work as far as THAT? (detecting your snare and triggering a new one via Halion?)

so, is the question how to use your OWN sample in halion instead of the ones that come with it???

if so, I have to say i don't KNOW if Halion allows you to import samples,

is there a simple IMPORT function in its menus?
is there a manual?


someone here must use Halion and know...

I THINK Halion ONE only allows you to play the sounds that come with it,




Logged
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...)

Doc Roc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 115
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2009, 07:51:03 pm »

wwittman wrote on Sat, 07 February 2009 22:03


so, is the question how to use your OWN sample in halion instead of the ones that come with it???

if so, I have to say i don't KNOW if Halion allows you to import samples,

is there a simple IMPORT function in its menus?
is there a manual?

someone here must use Halion and know...

I THINK Halion ONE only allows you to play the sounds that come with it,



Precisely! Thx William! I'll look for any kind of import function or visit the Cubase forums for some import advice.  But I didn't even know that "importing" was where to start.  If HalionOne doesn't allow for that, looks like I'll need to research a decent sampler that does.  Thx!

edited to say WILLIAM, not WALT!!!
Logged
Ross Neptune
Noise Gate Audio Production Services
Denver/Boulder
www.noisegateaudio.com

wwittman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7712
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2009, 10:40:56 pm »

there is always the "full' version of Halion, I believe


Logged
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...)

Vertigo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1334
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2009, 09:52:21 am »

Try Drumagog. It's cheap, works wonderfully, and requires no MIDI knowledge whatsoever. It will work with Cubase just like any other plug-in.

BTW - triggers will never sound nearly as good as a properly recorded drum track. Sometimes they can be necessary, but usually not.

-Lance
Logged

A.J.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2009, 12:31:51 pm »

Hi DocRoc,

I would also recommend ApTrigga. Fibes - one of the moderators here on this forum - had talked about it before, and I finally bought a copy. It's very easy to use and does a great job... especially for $39 or so.

Best,

Doc Roc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 115
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2009, 07:26:28 pm »

Aren't they the same kind of program as KTDrumTrigger though (although they might be better or easier to use)?  I need the actual sampler though, right?  

With KTDrumTrigger, It sends the midi note out and then my sampler (for now, HalionOne), set up to recieve MIDI signal from KT, does the actual MIDI decoding (if that's the right word) and triggers the actual sample of the kick.  With Drumagog, ApTrigga, etc, how is it done?  Do those programs act as the "sampler" as well as the trigger?  

Also, I have Cubase 4.  I thought ApTrigga was just RTAS from what I remember?
Logged
Ross Neptune
Noise Gate Audio Production Services
Denver/Boulder
www.noisegateaudio.com

wwittman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7712
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2009, 08:02:51 pm »

yes those programs detect the trigger and playback the sample, all in one.

no midi is generated.(so, no midi can be edited either)


Logged
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...)

Doc Roc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 115
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2009, 08:49:47 pm »

Thanks a lot William. Or should I call you Bill?  Either way, I really appreciate your help.  Thanks,

Ross
Logged
Ross Neptune
Noise Gate Audio Production Services
Denver/Boulder
www.noisegateaudio.com

NelsonL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1233
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2009, 01:02:13 am »

Doc Roc wrote on Mon, 09 February 2009 16:26


Also, I have Cubase 4.  I thought ApTrigga was just RTAS from what I remember?


It's VST, available for OSX and Windows:

http://www.apulsoft.ch/aptrigga/

For RTAS you actually have to use a VST wrapper.
Logged

0dbfs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 405
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2009, 09:44:13 pm »

What about overdubbing a snare/kick track and editing it to match the original?

That would keep the dynamics, provide a more isolated sound to blend in, not involve any midi or additional samplers, and most likely require some detailed editing.

Thoughts?

Cheers,
J
Logged
Jonathan Burtner
Music is Everything!
Audio is Everything Else!

JDNelson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 997
Re: making my own replacement samples
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2009, 01:36:52 pm »

Not sure, but you may be able to convert your wave files into Halion format with this free utility:   http://www.chickensys.com/products/sw_iteminfo.php?sw_name=T ranslator+Free
Pages: [1]   Go Up