R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Upgarde help: new comp & PTLE 8  (Read 3069 times)

revmutt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Upgarde help: new comp & PTLE 8
« on: January 20, 2009, 10:58:53 pm »

Time to upgrade. I've been running PTLE 6xx for years with an 001. I would like to know whether I can get the same kind of performance with a USB or Firewire interface.

It's time to upgrade past 2001 but I don't know if I have to go whole hog on a Pro and an 003 or if I can get away with an Mbox and a lesser machine.

factors:

1. I do a lot of edits

2. rarely need to record more then 8 tracks live -but that may be a 45 minute shot.

3. songs are generally under 24 tracks with overdubs.  

4. I don't use plug-ins.

If anyone can offer an opinion based on these parameters I'd be much obliged.

Thanks for the band and the width.
Logged

wwittman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7712
Re: Upgarde help: new comp & PTLE 8
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 10:48:01 pm »

If you have been happy with a 001, I can't IMAGINE you won't be at least as happy with an MBox and PT 8

as long as you have a computer appropriate to run it.


Logged
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...)

marcel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1257
Re: Upgarde help: new comp & PTLE 8
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2009, 10:19:22 am »

You can't record 8 tracks with an Mbox.

I think you'll need the 003.

Maybe check out some of the M-powered options, too.  I use the Profire Lightbridge as an interface to Apogee converters and it's a very workable system.  I don't know how the price/quality of the M-Audio stuff compares to an 003, really.  I've never used their converters.
Logged
Best, Marcel

fallforward

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Upgarde help: new comp & PTLE 8
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2009, 02:16:29 pm »

I just pre ordered this machine, and honestly I don't think you are going to get any better bang for the buck.

http://shop2.frys.com/product/5805933?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RS LT_PG

Lenovo Desktop PC featuring Intel Core2-Quad Processor Q8200

Lenovo:
FRYS.com #: 5805933
Model Number: Lenovo K230-K5265
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200, Viiv Technology
Memory: 6GB DDR2-800 SDRAM
Video: Integrated Intel GMA3100
Hard Drive: 640GB, SATA II


All for 650 bucks! Quad core 6 GB ram and a decent HD


Good luck man!
Robby
Logged
Do what you can with what you have!

imdrecordings

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
Re: Upgarde help: new comp & PTLE 8
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2009, 02:36:33 pm »

Hi Robby.

That does seem pretty good or the money.
However:
That's a Vista 64bit machine and I do believe ProTools and DigiDesign hardware will not work on this OS/Machine yet.
You'll Probably have to create another partition and the install XP or Vista 32bit on it.  That way you'll have a dual boot workstation! COOL! Very Happy  
Also, it doesn't list that PC's chipset or third party controllers.
Try and find out and make sure they are compatible with PT or at least when you search Google, the word problems and (Insert chipset here), you don't come up with page upon page of issues.
Just thought I'd let you know and I hope that helps.


Cheers
Logged
-Scott S

Derek DiFilippo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Upgarde help: new comp & PTLE 8
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2009, 12:33:42 pm »

Hi,

Based on your parameters (no plugs, 8 tracks) , and based on my many friends who have a similar system... here's my suggestion

+ get the last version of macbook (pro if you can) from the apple refurbished section of their website.  not the newest aluminum one.  you'll save cash and it will still be more than enough machine for what you need.  
+ choose one with 2GB of memory installed
+ get the new 003 rack with 8 preamps
+ an external harddrive.   the vantec nexstar-3 enclosures are great and can come with both firewire and USB2.0 interfaces.

I have basically this setup, including PT8, and it's running very well.

I didn't have my "nice" preamps with me a few days ago and recorded a 7' Yamaha grand through my 003 using a pair of Shure KSM141s and was very pleased with the result.

This may be too whole hog?  I've been burned before trying to get half of the hog and ending up with just the ass and hoofs, maybe the ears and part of the snout.  
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up