R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rader PCM files for mastering  (Read 2684 times)

lucey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1043
Rader PCM files for mastering
« on: June 18, 2004, 01:40:36 pm »

Is there a Radar playback workaround in Samplitude, Wavelab, PT le or the Masterlink?

I have some 88.2 files here from RecForums Tony at Oxide and I'm in the dark on playback.


I could ask him to convert but that would be an inconvenience, if there is another way.

Logged
Brian Lucey
Magic Garden Mastering

"the economy is a wholly owned subsidiary of the ecology" - unknown

lucey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1043
Re: Rader PCM files for mastering
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2004, 02:25:22 pm »

aah ... might be a Digigram VX card limitation.

now transferring files to ML with Alesis software




previously i had only seen 88.2 as Masterlink files.  looks like I need to invest in a new PC sound card ...






alright so occasionally i'm a computer idiot... ran it in PT Le with a 002

no problem .... done

Logged
Brian Lucey
Magic Garden Mastering

"the economy is a wholly owned subsidiary of the ecology" - unknown

bblackwood

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7036
Re: Rader PCM files for mastering
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2004, 09:49:21 pm »

Did the Alesis CD24 creation software work?
Logged
Brad Blackwood
euphonic masters

lucey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1043
Re: Rader PCM files for mastering
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2004, 01:05:15 am »

bblackwood wrote on Fri, 18 June 2004 20:49

Did the Alesis CD24 creation software work?


you know ... it didn't

it kept saying the .aiff file was incompatible, even though it looks for .aiff




so i loaded it in to Pro Tools 002 and went from there
Logged
Brian Lucey
Magic Garden Mastering

"the economy is a wholly owned subsidiary of the ecology" - unknown

mcsnare

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 958
Re: Rader PCM files for mastering
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2004, 08:12:12 am »

I always have to put SD II and sometimes AIFF files that I receive on disc , into my ProTools setup. Import to a session, then export as a WAV file and burn a new disc, before my PC will open it. Any software out there that will do this on my PC and allow me to open files on a CDR directly in Wavelab? Mac/PC compatibilty issues are a drag. I wish they wrote Samplitude for Mac.
Dave McNair

bblackwood

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7036
Re: Rader PCM files for mastering
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2004, 10:01:06 am »

Dave, if you buy something like MacDrive5 you can read Mac formatted discs directly from the PC, so all you have to do is copy them to your HDD and open them in something like WL. Since the SD2 is not a PC format, you still have to tell the software the bit depth and sampling frequency, but I do it here all the time, no issues...
Logged
Brad Blackwood
euphonic masters

jlapointe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 121
Re: Rader PCM files for mastering
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2004, 06:30:07 pm »

mcsnare wrote on Tue, 22 June 2004 09:12

I always have to put SD II and sometimes AIFF files that I receive on disc , into my ProTools setup. Import to a session, then export as a WAV file and burn a new disc, before my PC will open it. Any software out there that will do this on my PC


Try SD2Wav.  I think this is it here:

http://www.io.com/~mcgriffy/audio/

bblackwood

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7036
Re: Rader PCM files for mastering
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2004, 09:23:53 pm »

JLaPointe wrote on Tue, 22 June 2004 17:30

Try SD2Wav.

You still have to tell it what the bit depth and sampling frequency are...
Logged
Brad Blackwood
euphonic masters

Bob Olhsson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3968
Re: Rader PCM files for mastering
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2004, 11:29:20 pm »

It's automatic if you use MacDrive and you aren't an idiot like me who always forgets to change the CD-R/DVD-R properties over to Mac format.
Pages: [1]   Go Up