R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: PT efficient EQs  (Read 10093 times)

j.hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787
PT efficient EQs
« on: October 01, 2008, 09:10:56 pm »

i'm starting to not dig EQ3 all that much.  what EQs are you guys using that sound great and are DSP/RTAS friendly.

keep in mind it's not uncommon for me to get 60 - 96 tracks at mix so i need something that really won't bog the system down.
Logged

Boedo Constrictor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2008, 11:01:47 pm »

Filterbank´s are really good bundle of eq´s and filters. And i think is no very hungry on DSP. I have the RTAS version running 48 tracks and 16 aux whit usually 1 plug eq/filter x ch.
Logged

beau

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2008, 01:28:44 am »

+1 for filterbank...  jay, you mixing all in the box now? for some reason i thought you were on a console...

peace

beau
Logged
I'll take ape tit for 500.

craig boychuk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 409
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2008, 10:08:49 am »

j.hall wrote on Wed, 01 October 2008 20:10


keep in mind it's not uncommon for me to get 60 - 96 tracks at mix


Yikes.


Logged
Capture the pasture rapture.
www.cbaudio.com

j.hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2008, 11:10:22 am »

i've been ITB for about 2 years now.

yes, that's a lot of tracks.  and you know what they say about more tracks......well, it's just more.
Logged

Eric H.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 557
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2008, 04:37:57 pm »

for me, renaissance EQ from waves works great.
Logged
eric harizanos

Adam Miller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 255
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2008, 04:56:20 pm »

I can't be of much use, but out of interest what are you not digging about the EQ3 J? It's always my go to plugin.
Logged

NelsonL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1233
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2008, 06:31:20 am »

That's what I was wondering-- the only other digital EQ I use is the Massey one, which is nice for broad strokes.
Logged

garret

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1012
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2008, 10:08:35 am »

Wavearts Trackplug.

It's available as an RTAS plugin.  I haven't used it in PT on OSX, but as a Windows VST is very efficient.

You can get a 30 day trial here..
http://wavearts.com/downloads/

Logged
tomorrow is already here - http://www.worksongs.net/

j.hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2008, 11:58:33 am »

Adam Miller wrote on Fri, 03 October 2008 15:56

I can't be of much use, but out of interest what are you not digging about the EQ3 J? It's always my go to plugin.


for whatever reason, i feel like it's a touch cloudy sounding.  i could be wrong, and i'd be happy to be wrong.  just in the last few month i've been wondering if i shouldn't be using something else.

i'm probably just crazy.
Logged

imdrecordings

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2008, 10:09:47 am »

Logged
-Scott S

Jonah A. Kort

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2008, 02:33:57 pm »

imdrecordings wrote on Sun, 05 October 2008 09:09

Give this a shot. Cool

http://www.eiosis.com/aireqtdm


what am I doing wrong?  I downloaded the Universal Binary link,

clicked on the .pkg,  installed the plugin.  But its not in with

the inserts.  I am quite sure I am missing something, throw this

dog a bone, I'm new to this.  -jonah
Logged

imdrecordings

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2008, 02:36:21 pm »

http://www.eiosis.com/aireqtdmdemo
Does this help?

Do you have an iLok and a PT system?
It does mention:
Quote:

Please allow a 24 hour time to receive your trial license deposit onto your iLok.com account.

Have you received your trial license?

I use the AIREq Native which is the VST version and you need a STienberg Key to use the VST version, but RTAS and TDM require the iLok.
Logged
-Scott S

wwittman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7712
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2008, 02:47:56 pm »

I like the Digi EQ3

but I also use the URS plug ins

mostly the A version, but the Motown EQ is also pretty interesting

and of course, with Channel Strip Pro, you get a bunch of choices.

not overpriced, and not TERRIBLY DSP hungry

ursplugins.com
Logged
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...)

grantis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1407
Re: PT efficient EQs
« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2008, 02:50:33 pm »

Jonah A. Kort wrote on Sun, 05 October 2008 13:33

imdrecordings wrote on Sun, 05 October 2008 09:09

Give this a shot. Cool

http://www.eiosis.com/aireqtdm


what am I doing wrong?  I downloaded the Universal Binary link,

clicked on the .pkg,  installed the plugin.  But its not in with

the inserts.  I am quite sure I am missing something, throw this

dog a bone, I'm new to this.  -jonah


Did you download the RTAS?  Or the VST?  Check this folder...

/Library/Audio/Plugins/VST/

If it's the VST,  you'll need this to make it work with PT

http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=15&tab=43

Hope the helps!

Logged
Grant Craig
Nuovo Music (Me)
Skiddco Music (Where I work)
Work History (Well, some of it anyway)
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up