R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Down

Author Topic: URS Saturation Plug  (Read 30218 times)

Greg Dixon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 791
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #30 on: November 17, 2008, 05:08:12 pm »

It was VST wrapper only, but the rtas version is out now, so you don't need it.
Logged

jchristopherhughes

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #31 on: November 17, 2008, 06:32:51 pm »

recall wrote on Sun, 16 November 2008 16:45

I'm finding the cumulative effect of this far more useful than just using it on the mixbus.
Currently I'm just using the 30ips presets for each channel.  Doing this has a great effect.  I'm just dipping my toes into it really.  Looking forward to using the 15ips on each channel when the material warrants it.



i've found the same thing...though i often use the 30 ips setting on the stereo buss as well.  on a record i just mixes...i used the 30ips setting on every channel, with additional use of the motown preset on vocals....and drum rooms got VERY saturated with the german setting.

what a great plugin.  my first tool for "vibing" up in the box mixes.

great job urs !!

best,

jchristopherhughes

Logged
jchristopherhughes

JGauthier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #32 on: November 30, 2008, 08:40:31 pm »

Greg Dixon wrote on Mon, 17 November 2008 14:08

It was VST wrapper only, but the rtas version is out now, so you don't need it.


Thanks! Now Ill need to try it! On the site it seemed confusing so I downloaded cranesong Phoenix instead since it gets such rave reviews.

I bought it and I don't buy many plug ins. Its great. Now I need to try the URS.

The one thing I don't like about phoenix is the top end isn't as happening as the bottom and tape does sweeten the top IMHO. Is the URS better on top?


Logged

jonathan jetter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 443
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #33 on: December 19, 2008, 02:07:29 am »

i would love to buy this but there's no PC RTAS version and the VST wrapper is a giant useless mess in my experience.

this is the one category of plugin (saturation/distortion) where i am happy to buy as many different ones as possible.  every flavor is different.
Logged

Red Tape

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #34 on: December 19, 2008, 07:01:00 am »

I've had no trouble with the VST wrapper on PC.
Logged

cameron_k

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #35 on: December 22, 2008, 07:54:17 pm »

I have >30 VST plugins running in Pro Tools via the wrapper.  Zero problems.
Logged

organica

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2226
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #36 on: January 06, 2009, 08:27:25 am »

Fibes wrote on Fri, 10 October 2008 10:25

I DLd the demo yesterday to try.

I'm pretty impressed but one thing seemed to be strange when strapped across the 2 Buss- On higher settings it didn't sound like what i thought saturation should sound like, it sounded like broken code. This didn't do the same thing on merely transient material.

Eveything under 20% sounded "correct."


Anyone care to tell me what I'm hearing?



bump ?

anything new on this report - broken code sounding issue ? really looking forward to trying the plug  soon .
Logged

recall

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #37 on: January 14, 2009, 04:18:39 pm »

New version 2.5 released today which includes a new British Trafo model.  I'm looking forward to trying this one out tomorrow.
Logged
Iwan Morgan
Producer/Engineer
www.westwalesgothic.co.uk

Greg Dixon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 791
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #38 on: January 14, 2009, 05:26:52 pm »

I just tried downloading it and they still have v2 up on the site. I'll try again latter.
Logged

imdrecordings

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #39 on: January 17, 2009, 01:24:54 pm »

Just bought it today.
So far I really like the American Transformer.
Using this (Post EQ) works brilliantly for the mix bus and individual tracks.  I love the way it focuses the low-end.

The Tape Machine Preamp seems to be broken.
It crashes Samplitude V10.2 when I try and use it.

Other than that, I'm happy!
Logged
-Scott S

Deuce 225

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #40 on: January 18, 2009, 01:44:32 pm »

I'd like to hear if most people are using the URS Saturation Plug as the 1st plug in the chain or post EQ and Dynamics.  We purchased this plug yesterday and just completed our 1st mix with it and our new UAD-2 Neveana 64.  Used the 15 and 30ips on Vocals, Acoustic
Guitar and Bass. Definitely had a subtle softening impact on this on the tracks in a good way. Ross or J Christopher care to comment?

Thanks,
Tim Cochran
Logged
Best,

Tim Cochran

imdrecordings

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #41 on: January 19, 2009, 12:45:26 am »

Well, here is a song where I used some on individual tracks.
Just a quick mix of a band I play in.
Mixed it on my headphones as a test.

Live recording made at "The Groove Room" in San Rafael, California and is pretty musch straight forward rock music.
One has the URS Saturation enabled and the other disabled.
I applied the saturation just as the website/PDF manual suggests.
I applied the saturation until the instrument/voice starts to stick out a little, to your liking, in the mix. "Vibey" is truly the best word to describe what it can add.

I'm curious to see if anyone can here a big difference.

Song 1: No Saturation (16bit 256k MP3)
       http://www.esnips.com/doc/9f82df92-3e2e-4f48-97e6-16f187d723 ac/Red-Bennies-Hey-Baby-No-URS-Staturation

Song 2: With Saturation Enabled (16bit 256k MP3)
       http://www.esnips.com/doc/948b2fab-51a7-45d6-ac08-0729991753 a4/Red-Bennies-Hey-Baby-With-URS-Staturation

The trusty MySpace page has them as well..
       http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewpro file&friendID=446766728

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc250/imdrecordings/Saturationon.jpg

I have to say, I love the way this plug works on Vocals.
To me, the URS plug gives things life.
I don't think one song sounds better than the other.
One is open, smooth and some what dull.
While the other has an edge and cuts more.
Logged
-Scott S

Ross Hogarth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2512
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #42 on: January 19, 2009, 12:55:05 pm »

i have been using it primarily on the backend of the chain
but i have used it on the front
usually on the backend tho
Logged

The practice of forgiveness is our most important contribution to the healing of the world.

The standard of success in life isn't the things. It isn't the money or the stuff. It is absolutely the amount of joy that you feel.

www.hoaxproductions.com

maarvold

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 853
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #43 on: January 21, 2009, 10:56:54 am »

Although I haven't explored every option, -2.0 Input, 15 IPS Tape and 80% Saturation is my current Default on individual tracks, first in the chain (PT HD).  
Logged
Michael Aarvold
Audio Engineer

mattrussell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 690
Re: URS Saturation Plug
« Reply #44 on: January 21, 2009, 10:02:11 pm »

bought this a week ago and i'm using it all over the place.  wonderful plug.

Logged
matt russell
producer/engineer
boston, ma
http://www.gainstructure.com
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Up