R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Soundtracs topaz 24x8  (Read 14207 times)

weihfool

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2004, 02:24:32 pm »

covert wrote on Tue, 15 June 2004 09:10


Are you sur it gives you balanced outs?  The impression I got from the manual was that it only changed the level.


I'm pretty positive Steve said it would balance the outputs.  I know I've been using them with balanced inputs with no problems that I've noticed, but then again, I'm a fool Very Happy, so anything is possible.  I need to give Steve a call anyway to get help with a Sound Workshop Series 30 he gave me that's still in pieces.  I'll ask him about that mod when I speak to him.  

Be well,
Logged

meverylame

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 503
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #16 on: June 23, 2004, 11:40:42 am »

Just out of curiosity, how does the SOLO stack up? It seems to be a cheaper board.
Logged
Cheers!
Jason Kingsland

http://www.jasonruinsrecords.com

Zoesch

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 269
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #17 on: June 24, 2004, 01:23:55 am »

meverylame wrote on Thu, 24 June 2004 01:40

Just out of curiosity, how does the SOLO stack up? It seems to be a cheaper board.


Depends on which version of the SOLO we are talking about, the SOLO Logic which is VCA automated is an alright board, it was the first non-modular Soundtracs but it still had a discrete transistor pre front-end, sounds alright, EQ is good. The normal SOLO only had MIDI mutes and no meterbridge.

The SOLO evolved from the Megas which is great sounding board... I personally prefer the modular PC-MIDI/MR/MXR boards.
Logged
It has always been Ringo's fault

meverylame

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 503
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #18 on: June 24, 2004, 10:51:25 am »

Yeah, the lack of meter bridge definately got me. I think I'll hold out for a topaz.




'
Logged
Cheers!
Jason Kingsland

http://www.jasonruinsrecords.com

Invisible Member

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 276
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #19 on: June 24, 2004, 11:12:17 am »

I was looking at the solo, the lack of a meter bridge really sucks on any desk.  


Peace,
Dennis
Logged

meverylame

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 503
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2004, 07:53:20 pm »

Harvey, what are the dimensions of the 32x8? I can't seem to find it on any sites.
Logged
Cheers!
Jason Kingsland

http://www.jasonruinsrecords.com

hargerst

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1458
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2004, 11:34:24 pm »

I'll measure it and get back to you.
Logged
Harvey "Is that the right note?" Gerst
Indian Trail Recording Studio

weihfool

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #22 on: July 06, 2004, 12:49:44 am »

covert wrote on Tue, 15 June 2004 09:10


Are you sur it gives you balanced outs?  The impression I got from the manual was that it only changed the level.


Hey sorry for the delay in my response.  I got to speak with Steve the other day.  You are correct.  The mod does NOT give you balanced outputs. However, you do get the +4 output from the direct outs.  
Logged

meverylame

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 503
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #23 on: July 07, 2004, 04:45:21 pm »

I just bought a 32x8 board. I have a new problem. I need to get it to me. What the best most economical way of doing so?
Logged
Cheers!
Jason Kingsland

http://www.jasonruinsrecords.com

hargerst

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1458
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #24 on: July 07, 2004, 07:19:43 pm »

Where is the board curently located?
Logged
Harvey "Is that the right note?" Gerst
Indian Trail Recording Studio

Rocc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #25 on: July 07, 2004, 07:30:31 pm »

Would anyone know where I could find a meter bridge for my Topaz 32. I really would like to find one.

"Rocc"
Logged

meverylame

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 503
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #26 on: July 07, 2004, 09:34:31 pm »

Hollywood, Ca.
Logged
Cheers!
Jason Kingsland

http://www.jasonruinsrecords.com

hargerst

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1458
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #27 on: July 07, 2004, 10:00:15 pm »

meverylame wrote on Wed, 07 July 2004 20:34

Hollywood, Ca.

Well, it's a nice drive this time of year.  And you're welcome to spend the night here when you come thru.  These consoles don't travel well, so unless the packing is done really well, it won't survive the usual carriers.  Take a few days off, leave on a Friday morning and drive till you get tired.
Logged
Harvey "Is that the right note?" Gerst
Indian Trail Recording Studio

hargerst

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1458
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #28 on: July 07, 2004, 10:01:53 pm »

Rocc wrote on Wed, 07 July 2004 18:30

Would anyone know where I could find a meter bridge for my Topaz 32. I really would like to find one.

"Rocc"


Talk to Steve Magalnick, he's the Soundtracs authorized U.S. tech
Logged
Harvey "Is that the right note?" Gerst
Indian Trail Recording Studio

Rocc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: Soundtracs topaz 24x8
« Reply #29 on: July 08, 2004, 03:49:16 pm »

I did , he don't know where one is ether.
Thanks anyway.

"Rocc"
www.gravytunes.com
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Up