R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Compilations: Leave or massage?  (Read 2667 times)

bing181

Compilations: Leave or massage?
« on: June 08, 2004, 05:14:31 PM »

I'm a mix engineer/producer and I've been roped into "mastering" a compilation for a band I was once involved in. Yep, there's no money. The CD will contain about 20 tracks, recorded across the period 1979 - 1985. Some were mastered at Sterling, some at Townhouse in London, some at smaller (but OK) facilities.

Needless to say, there's a big difference in the sound across the various sources, and there's also a big difference between what this material sounds like and contemporary tracks.

So ...  should I leave well enough alone and try and just match up levels, or should I try and match up the tracks to sound at least somewhat similar .. further to that, should I try and get the levels up a bit more to contemporary levels??

Any input appreciated.

jfrigo

Re: Compilations: Leave or massage?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2004, 06:19:20 PM »

bing181 wrote on Tue, 08 June 2004 14:14

I'm a mix
Needless to say, there's a big difference in the sound across the various sources, and there's also a big difference between what this material sounds like and contemporary tracks.

So ...  should I leave well enough alone and try and just match up levels, or should I try and match up the tracks to sound at least somewhat similar .. further to that, should I try and get the levels up a bit more to contemporary levels??