R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Saving Mastering Sessions -noob alert  (Read 1888 times)

lsimy

Saving Mastering Sessions -noob alert
« on: June 09, 2004, 12:29:10 PM »

Total noob here. I've been desiring to get an editing/mastering suite underway here in VA for a long time now. I've been editing audio for DC theaters over the last few years as well.

I'm all for a nice analog front-end to a DAW (Wavelab at the present). My question is two-fold:

1) If you have an analog front end, how will you be able to "save" sessions in case you must revisit them in the future ?? Perhaps there is no way around that unless you are entirely in the box. I also appreciate being able to rip from CD mixes and then go from there, versus out from a CD player into analog gear, then into the DAW. Any suggestions here ??

2) Being that a $5K to $10K eq is not in the cards just yet, can anyone recommend a nice stereo eq to get started with and that would be worth keeping ??

Many thanks for the help.
-Vinnie
Vinnie @ Little Simy
Alexandria, VA

MASSIVE Mastering

Re: Saving Mastering Sessions -noob alert
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2004, 01:44:26 PM »

You should probably be posting this in the mastering forum, but I digress...

Anyway, it all depends on "how serious" you want to get.  Alesis has a parametric that's cheap - A pair of Speck ASC's will run you less that $1,000.  That's a good route.  

There are a lot of reasonably inexpensive "vintage" units with a nice flavor to them out there also - Orban, Ashly, etc.

As far as saving sessions, we do it the same way it's been done from day one.  With a pencil and a diagram of the unit's face.  

Whatever you choose, make sure that you don't skimp on two things - Converters & monitoring.  You can have the greatest gear available, and it's all worthless if you can't hear it accurately.  
John Scrip