R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Apogee Rosetta 200 x Mytek AD96+DA96  (Read 4459 times)

Alécio Costa - Brazil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 791
Apogee Rosetta 200 x Mytek AD96+DA96
« on: May 01, 2008, 11:19:29 am »




Hi,
Has anyone had the opportunity to compare these units?
The Rosetta can go up to 192k, although I mostly work at 44.1k/24, but might be much better on a mastering chain.

These are the options that are within my budget (U$2000 - end up almost as U$4000 when reach my country) and have heard they seem to be a better choice over the Digidesign 192 I/O and 96 I/O.

Is there anything else coming soon towards this price point?

Thanks for any comments.
Logged
Alécio Costa Studio
High-end Mastering, Music Production
http://www.aleciocosta.com

Listen to my album at:
http://www.audiostreet.net/aleciocosta

MySpace:
http://www.myspace.com/aleciocostamasterizacao

Glenn Bucci

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 627
Re: Apogee Rosetta 200 x Mytek AD96+DA96
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2008, 02:22:23 pm »

I had the 2 channel Mytek in my studio and just loved it. It was clear, detailed and gave a sparkle in the top end. When I needed an 8 channel converter I bought the Apogee Rosetta 800. I found it had less sparkle in the top end compared to the Mytek which I actually found to be more natural sounding. Some call this an analog sound which Apogee's are known for. To me it gives you more of what you hear in front of you when recording. The Mytek gives a highten open sound. Some like that more open top end sound, others like the more natural sound. Both are great converters, and you would be happy with either one. Once you get to the quality of the these converters, I find they all have their own personality. So which ever personality you like is the one that will best suite you. Needless to say I am very happy with my Rosetta 800 which has the same circuits as the 200.
Logged

Alécio Costa - Brazil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 791
Re: Apogee Rosetta 200 x Mytek AD96+DA96
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2008, 04:23:54 pm »

cool!
Logged
Alécio Costa Studio
High-end Mastering, Music Production
http://www.aleciocosta.com

Listen to my album at:
http://www.audiostreet.net/aleciocosta

MySpace:
http://www.myspace.com/aleciocostamasterizacao

cerberus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2651
Re: Apogee Rosetta 200 x Mytek AD96+DA96
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2008, 03:42:33 am »

my new "i'm a mac guy" converter has a bloomy sound... is ok for $500.

but cabling?  this was what i didn't think of when i ordered cables..
it has a breakout cable itself, then to 1/4" and then.
i ordered 1/4" to xlr. but did i make a mistake?
index.php/fa/8719/0/
i should have the cables soldiered to a male connector and skip the
breakout cable. all i need is the stereo output.

but i would need to know more information..
i suppose i can get some help here...

like: what is that connector called?
and which pins are what?

thanks.

jeff dinces

Alécio Costa - Brazil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 791
Re: Apogee Rosetta 200 x Mytek AD96+DA96
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2008, 11:09:07 am »

MAn, you are so off-topic!!!! Rolling Eyes
Logged
Alécio Costa Studio
High-end Mastering, Music Production
http://www.aleciocosta.com

Listen to my album at:
http://www.audiostreet.net/aleciocosta

MySpace:
http://www.myspace.com/aleciocostamasterizacao

brett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1114
Re: Apogee Rosetta 200 x Mytek AD96+DA96
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2008, 04:06:11 am »

cerberus wrote on Fri, 02 May 2008 08:42

my new "i'm a mac guy" converter has a bloomy sound... is ok for $500.

but cabling?  this was what i didn't think of when i ordered cables..
it has a breakout cable itself, then to 1/4" and then.
i ordered 1/4" to xlr. but did i make a mistake?
index.php/fa/8719/0/
i should have the cables soldiered to a male connector and skip the
breakout cable. all i need is the stereo output.

but i would need to know more information..
i suppose i can get some help here...

like: what is that connector called?
and which pins are what?

thanks.

jeff dinces


I can make you a cable from one the atari 2600 joist sticks I have laying around.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up