R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: internship inquiries  (Read 3257 times)

Ali

internship inquiries
« on: April 16, 2008, 11:31:31 AM »

Hello all,
I'm new to this forum, so please forgive me if this question has been asked many times before.

I'm currently an audio production student at Webster University in St. Louis, MO. I'm graduating soon, but need to find an internship, and seriously think about the future path. I'm wanting to enter the field of architectural acoustics, but am having a difficult time finding the best places to go, concerning both city and company.

If anyone could help out, and maybe answer some more questions, the efforts would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

jimmyjazz

Re: internship inquiries
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2008, 01:57:26 PM »

I'd consider graduate school.  Penn State would be good for starters, as might be Carnegie-Mellon, Case Western, etc.  I went to University of Texas, which put more emphasis on underwater acoustics than I cared for, but Penn State is surely the biggest program in the country and isn't nearly so specialized.

Ali

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2008, 03:39:48 PM »

Thank you for the advice, I'll definitely look into that. I was trying to avoid the "even more school" route...but that may be exactly what I need to do.

jimmyjazz

« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2008, 10:46:32 PM »

The reason I suggest "more school" is because the majority of the acoustics curricula, particularly that related to architectural acoustics, is learned at the graduate level.  I'm pretty familiar with your undergraduate program -- my sister teaches piano at Webster from time to time, and I did my undergrad engineering degree just down the road -- and while it's a terrific school, it's nothing so spectacular as to represent a substitute for good old graduate book learning in acoustics.  It's just the way things are.

franman