R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "gain structure"  (Read 4192 times)

bellulah

"gain structure"
« on: May 14, 2004, 04:29:04 AM »

hello everyone!

so i need help understanding something.  a friend of mine was telling me about a sound guy he was talking to, and the guy told him that "people just aren't taught about gain structure anymore."

so that is my question - what is gain structure?  i've been recording for a little over three years now, and i have a good idea of what's going on.  i know about mic level vs. line level, and using gain to compensate.  is that what he's talking about?  contextually i was led to believe that he was speaking in terms of just mixing.  

any help understanding the beast known as gain structure would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!!

josh dennison

saxist

Re: "gain structure"
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2004, 09:14:31 AM »

I just did a web search through Yahoo! for "gain structure."  It took about 15 seconds, and the top 12 hits were:

1. Advanced Gain Structure
www.community.chester.pa.us/technote/gainadvd.html

2. Gain Structure
www.thenoizeworks.co.uk/tech2.html

3. ProSoundWeb.com | Study Hall Featured Site (PDF)
www.prosoundweb.com/studyhall/studyjump.php?pdf=gain

4. live_audioStudyHall-Gain Structure
www.live-audio.com/studyhall/gain.html

5. [same as #3]

6. Basic Gain Structure
www.community.chester.pa.us/technote/gainbasc.html

7. Gain Structure
www.stressfreestudios.com/learn/topics/gain_structure.html

8. Prefect's Pages.. Publications .. MQP .. Gain Structure Diagram
www.gweep.net/~prefect/pubs/mqp/node46.html

9. Gain Structure
www.padj.org/memonly/2001/gainstructure.html

10. Gain Structure - 1
www.mmproductions.co.uk/gain1.html

11. Levels and Gain Structure
www.donlisms.com/html/gainstruc.html

12. Tip #31 Gain Structure Part 2
www.geocities.com/tcsound_1999/Tip31GainStructurePart2.htm