R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: G4=power?  (Read 3596 times)

Iain Graham

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 361
Re: G4=power?
« Reply #15 on: December 14, 2007, 09:56:25 am »

Finding it however, is not so easy....

And that i exactly what I meant.
Logged
Iain Graham

www . iain - graham . com

http://www.myspace.com/iain_graham

www . soundart . com

mattrussell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 690
Re: G4=power?
« Reply #16 on: December 14, 2007, 12:24:40 pm »

i have a g4 dual 1.25 i'm about to unload.  my plugs are ALL RTAS.  PT 7.x runs terribly on it.  can't get nearly the plug counts i was getting on 6.4 with panther.  tiger is a HOG and the 30% gain in RTAS "power" that digi added with ver 7 doesn't help at all.  some sessions i ran with little trouble won't play AT ALL in ver 7.  if you're running mostly TDM plugs (esp. the verbs, MB Comps, linear phase EQ's), you'll be fine.    

on another note, the machines themselves are VERY noisy compared to a G5. i'm using a dual 2.3PPC machine right now and it is whisper quiet.  my G4 is ten times louder than this box - without a doubt.  

buying a quad-core Intel Mac, 2.66 this weekend.  can't wait.

Logged
matt russell
producer/engineer
boston, ma
http://www.gainstructure.com

neilio

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 138
Re: G4=power?
« Reply #17 on: December 16, 2007, 04:36:11 pm »

well fully blown mix+ systems used to run off powermac g4 466's...

which is the whole point of the tdm architecture...the host cpu really is merely an interface and a controller not processing anything unless you use rtas plugs....

so a dual 1.25 g4 will be a very viable host cpu for a mix system, the thing to watch out for is what os vs. what version of quicktime vs. what version of pro tools you are using...there is very specific window of compatibility for these older systems...but once that is sussed out it will be a rock solid system...

and there is the option to use something like an ad8000 instead of the 888's, albeit at 48k/24bit max...
Logged

tom eaton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3640
Re: G4=power?
« Reply #18 on: December 16, 2007, 06:28:20 pm »

My G5 dual 2.7 is WAY louder than my G4 dual 1.42.  I couldn't believe it when I first ran the thing.  I thought the G5 was supposed to be a quieter machine.  Mine is louder than any G4 I've owned (733, dual 1.0, or the dual 1.42).

I wonder how much variance there is between machines.

t

Jay Kadis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2165
Re: G4=power?
« Reply #19 on: December 18, 2007, 11:29:05 am »

tom eaton wrote on Sun, 16 December 2007 15:28

My G5 dual 2.7 is WAY louder than my G4 dual 1.42.  I couldn't believe it when I first ran the thing.  I thought the G5 was supposed to be a quieter machine.  Mine is louder than any G4 I've owned (733, dual 1.0, or the dual 1.42).

I wonder how much variance there is between machines.

t
I found a lot of difference in fan noise between OS versions on my dual 1.8GHz G5.  Upgrading to 10.3.9 (or maybe it was 10.3.8 ) reduced the fan volume considerably.  A friend with a single 1.8GHz G5 had some defective fans that made huge noise and eventually were replaced under warranty.

j.hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787
Re: G4=power?
« Reply #20 on: December 18, 2007, 11:34:45 pm »

Berolzheimer wrote on Thu, 13 December 2007 18:08

 I hate to say it but I think a lot of the info you're looking for is available on the Digidesign website.


100% completely true.  though their search engine is TERRIBLE.......almost as bad as their useful information on mix + systems.  neither of which i blame them for.
Logged

bblackwood

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7036
Re: G4=power?
« Reply #21 on: December 22, 2007, 08:30:05 pm »

From what I hear, you should just get a G5 - it will be worth the (financial) wait, if there is any.

Of course, I'm just a lowly mastering guy who has zero knowledge of ProTools, so basically ignore everything I say.
Logged
Brad Blackwood
euphonic masters

tom eaton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3640
Re: G4=power?
« Reply #22 on: December 23, 2007, 08:33:11 am »

Jay Kadis wrote on Tue, 18 December 2007 11:29

tom eaton wrote on Sun, 16 December 2007 15:28

My G5 dual 2.7 is WAY louder than my G4 dual 1.42.
I found a lot of difference in fan noise between OS versions on my dual 1.8GHz G5.  Upgrading to 10.3.9 (or maybe it was 10.3.8 ) reduced the fan volume considerably.  A friend with a single 1.8GHz G5 had some defective fans that made huge noise and eventually were replaced under warranty.




Interesting... in my situation it was the same OS on both machines, 10.4.8.  Maybe my machine runs hot?  Temperature monitor shows no particular strangeness.

I don't know hot hot it SHOULD be running, though...

-tom
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up