R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Quantifying loud speaker performance  (Read 3360 times)

iain

Quantifying loud speaker performance
« on: April 21, 2007, 03:47:49 PM »

Hi

I’m an acoustics student doing a bit of uni course work on loud speakers at the moment.

I’m trying to a design a set of criteria that accurately measure every aspect of loud speaker performance.

So far the test is

============================================================

Measurements 1-8 should be made at 101cm and 233 cm.

Frequency Response

1.   Frequency range - On axis pure tone sweep to establish lower and upper -6dB point, measured in free field.

2.   Frequency variations - pure tone sweep across frequency range measured in 1, in free field, at vertical and horizontal intervals of 11 degrees from 0-352 degrees and 8 degrees from 352-360 degrees.

Dynamic Response

3.   Dynamic range - free field maximum sustained SPL in dB at 1 meter on axis with 10 minute of continues pink noise ascertaining speakers peak output level.  

4.   Transient response - using standardized impulse signal at 0.1w 1w and 10% of peak measured in free field at vertical and horizontal intervals of 11 degrees from 0-352 degrees and 8 degrees from 352 - 360 degrees.

Timing Response

5.   Frequency and amplitude dependant timing variations - measured measured in free field at 1/3 octave bands at 0.1w 1w and 10% of peak between speakers upper and lower - 6db frequency points, at vertical and horizontal intervals of 11 degrees from 0-352 degrees and 8 degrees from 352 - 360 degrees.

Harmonic Distortion

6.Measured distortion - between speakers upper and lower -6dB frequency points, measured in free field at 0.1w 1w and 10% of peak at vertical and horizontal intervals of 11 degrees from 0-352 degrees and 8 degrees from 352 - 360 degrees.

7.   Results can be deduced from 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6.