R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00  (Read 10136 times)

vegas4ever

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 307
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2007, 08:24:34 AM »

Fibes wrote on Wed, 28 February 2007 14:14

Fox wrote on Wed, 28 February 2007 14:24

Preamps! Preamps I say!


Yes.

But you don't have to buy the farm right away.

I'm an API guy, two 500 series racks, one with A-designs stuff.

That said, picking up a 500 series rack used would be my first choice and building it up.

But the SCA and Sytek stuff works too.

HD192+424 card, 500 rack NEW, 4 preamps= 5 grand

Or 2 Syteks (8 ch) and the 192+ 3,300+ lunchbox and two API modules.


Ok ok Now we are getting some ideas!! thats a diff way to go about it! come on what else ...








Logged
"Eagles may soar high, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
David Brent

rphilbeck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 604
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #16 on: March 02, 2007, 08:10:58 AM »

Digi 002 and the API 4 channel unit.  Everything you need right there, and $1600 left over to put into a Vangaurd Money Market fund which is at 5.10% right now!
Logged

vegas4ever

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 307
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #17 on: March 02, 2007, 08:46:29 AM »

RPhilbeck wrote on Fri, 02 March 2007 07:10

Digi 002 and the API 4 channel unit.  Everything you need right there, and $1600 left over to put into a Vangaurd Money Market fund which is at 5.10% right now!


Ok sounds good, but if I want to save $$$
I go: M-audio 1010 + m-powered + API 3124+ = 2500 and have $3000 left.... not a bad idea... I wonder  the difference between 1010 and the 002 conver. rate?
Logged
"Eagles may soar high, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
David Brent

ShakesTheClown

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #18 on: March 02, 2007, 10:59:27 AM »

Am I wrong in thinking that you can only use one interface with PT M-Powered??

If that's true and you ever wanted more than 10 inputs you'd be screwing yourself.
Logged

Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 306
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #19 on: March 02, 2007, 11:46:44 AM »

No, you're right. It would be shooting yourself in the foot, IMHO. If ProTools isn't a necessity, what about those echo layla cards? You could get 3 of 'em for about $1500 and have all the I/O you'll ever need.
Logged

rphilbeck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 604
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #20 on: March 02, 2007, 12:51:29 PM »

vegas4ever wrote on Fri, 02 March 2007 08:46

RPhilbeck wrote on Fri, 02 March 2007 07:10

Digi 002 and the API 4 channel unit.  Everything you need right there, and $1600 left over to put into a Vangaurd Money Market fund which is at 5.10% right now!


Ok sounds good, but if I want to save $$$
I go: M-audio 1010 + m-powered + API 3124+ = 2500 and have $3000 left.... not a bad idea... I wonder  the difference between 1010 and the 002 conver. rate?


Well then you're short 4 of the 8 preamps in your original requirement.  I don't know about the 1010 but the pres and conversion is the 002 are pretty darned stellar.
Logged

ShakesTheClown

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #21 on: March 02, 2007, 01:08:41 PM »

If you don't need PT the options are endless...

If you need PT the options are annoying...
Logged

MI

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1292
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #22 on: March 02, 2007, 01:08:42 PM »

The Delta 1010 doesn't have any mic inputs only line, dig, midi.

The Project mix might fit the bill:

  http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/ProjectMixIO-main.html

Control surface, 8 mic in, 8 line in, dig in and Pro Tools compatible.

Or if you don't care for Pro Tools get the Tascam FW-1814 which also has mic ins a and you can get more fader packs like Pro Control has.

Mario

EDIT: The Tascam is compatible with Pro Tools as a control surface only. You'll still need a sound card.
Logged

vegas4ever

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 307
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #23 on: March 07, 2007, 12:48:54 PM »

what do you guys think of a Control 24 and a 002r bundle? there now going for 5k
Logged
"Eagles may soar high, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
David Brent

Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 306
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #24 on: March 07, 2007, 04:26:13 PM »

This is only my opinion, but I think it's a waste of good money. I imagine it would work fine, but why waste all that money on I/O and a control surface? There are better ways to spend that cash.
Logged

MI

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1292
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #25 on: March 07, 2007, 04:35:20 PM »

As a package I think it's a good combo.

I thought of getting one of these a few years back when I was debating between full dig or hybrid system, but I went with a large analogue console in the end.

You might be limited on inputs with the 002. I think you can get a second 002 to use in tandem if you wanted. Look into that.

Get a real good, fast, with lots of ram computer so you can run all the EQ and Comp plugs you want.

The nice thing with that setup is that you'll be pretty much ready to go out of the box. Control surface / monitor section / pre's.

The Focusrite pre's in the Control 24 are pretty good too, they're not API's, but very usable if you don't push them too hard. They are the same as the Focusrite Platinum series and you get 16 channels worth. Although there is no digital out's on the Control 24 only analogue line out and analogue monitor returns.

The other advantage is that if you ever upgrade to HD, you've already got the console.

MI
Logged

MI

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1292
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #26 on: March 07, 2007, 04:42:20 PM »

Fox wrote on Wed, 07 March 2007 16:26


There are better ways to spend that cash.


Hey Fox,

Like Cuban cigars and Brandy?  Laughing

As I said in my last, I'm an analogue guy, I prefer analogue console...but the Control 24 is pretty cheap and it's got some nice features for the money, again YMMV.

Just take your time and figure out what works for YOU.

Mario


Logged

MI

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1292
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #27 on: March 07, 2007, 04:54:19 PM »

Browse through the manual.

http://akmedia.digidesign.com/support/docs/Control24_Guide_2 5948.pdf

See if any local studios use them. Try to get a demo session from a dealer.

Some bigger studios around here are using them in thier B Rooms, but that's only because they're demanded by clients.

If you're gonna recoup your investment with clients, it's worth it. If it's for you personal projects...reconsider the Control 24 and the whole Pro Tools rig...

Again as stated by ShakesTheClown:
Quote:


If you don't need PT the options are endless...

If you need PT the options are annoying...  



So if you don't need Pro Tools screw the Control 24 idea.

Fox is right as well, get good preamps...it's the building block.

Mario
Logged

vegas4ever

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 307
Re: MAKE MY STUDIO HERE IS $5000.00
« Reply #28 on: March 08, 2007, 08:07:39 AM »

Mario I. wrote on Wed, 07 March 2007 15:54

Browse through the manual.

 http://akmedia.digidesign.com/support/docs/Control24_Guide_2 5948.pdf

See if any local studios use them. Try to get a demo session from a dealer.

Some bigger studios around here are using them in thier B Rooms, but that's only because they're demanded by clients.

If you're gonna recoup your investment with clients, it's worth it. If it's for you personal projects...reconsider the Control 24 and the whole Pro Tools rig...

Again as stated by ShakesTheClown:
Quote:


If you don't need PT the options are endless...

If you need PT the options are annoying...  



So if you don't need Pro Tools screw the Control 24 idea.

Fox is right as well, get good preamps...it's the building block.

Mario


Actually my church where I'm part time has the contol 24, So I have used the console b4, we also have API's, the only thing that im scared of, its that PT is upgrading all its gear, I mean look at the 003's, crap now im thinking into a analog board!
Logged
"Eagles may soar high, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
David Brent
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 

Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.025 seconds with 19 queries.