R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13   Go Down

Author Topic: IMP10 discussion thread  (Read 32157 times)

garret

Re: IMP10 discussion thread
« Reply #165 on: March 07, 2007, 12:33:58 PM »

Dave.. first off, thanks for participating.  J talks very highly of you...

How much do you find you have to be careful when mixing not to go too far with "creative mixing" like adjusting arrangements, adding harmonies, etc?

I'm not a professional ae/mixer (yet).... but I find it difficult when mixing other people's stuff to stop at "balance mixing."  I wonder how often you get negative reactions from clients when you cut out a verse to tighten up an arrangement, drop out some instrumentation, etc.  Is there a line in the sand you try not to cross?   Or is it just the old rule that if it sounds good, it is good.  In other words, it's better to be do what you think improves the tune, and ask for permission and forgiveness later.

-Garret
tomorrow is already here - http://www.worksongs.net/

M Carter

« Reply #166 on: March 07, 2007, 02:04:37 PM »

You could always unveil it as 'the remix'   Surprised
Matt Carter
General Manager
Manhattan Sound Recording
www.manhattansoundrecording.com
(212) 564 8248

mcsnare

« Reply #167 on: March 07, 2007, 04:01:21 PM »

If I hear something that I think will improve the tune, I do it. It doesn't matter what it is. People usually like what I've done about 80% of the time. The 20% that like it the original way, I'm happy to accomadate, without any ego on my part. Unless I think they are making a huge mistake and then I get out pistols and challenge them to a duel.
Dave

typek

« Reply #168 on: March 07, 2007, 10:39:50 PM »

maxim wrote on Tue, 27 February 2007 18:32

pete wrote:

"...nice phase on the kit mics"