R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Help on buying a mixing console  (Read 7663 times)

djklocek

Help on buying a mixing console
« on: January 06, 2007, 09:24:26 AM »

Hello.
I'm a newbie so please forgive me if I put this in a wrong place. I have a question. I want to buy a mixing console to which I'll be sending 4 ADATs (32 tracks) and want to mix them. My budget is quite small so I've been thinking of Yamaha o2R. Is there a better proposition for me? I'll be using it for recording either, using some additional mic preamps but sometimes I'll have to use the yamaha's ones. Should I consider something else or stay with yamaha o2R. Moreover I heard that there are few versions of o2R and some are much better than other so if yamaha which one should I chose?
And if not yamaha then what?

Best regards and thanks in advance

djklocek

Re: Help on buying a mixing console
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2007, 03:55:51 AM »

Just checked it out but nobody helped me yet Sad
Can somebody help me? I'm in despair Rolling Eyes

Les Ismore

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2007, 11:05:55 PM »

Never liked the O2Rs that much myself. You might try this over at Harvey Gerst's forum, as you might get more responses. You can pick up all sorts of consoles these days for not much coin.
Depends on what style of music you're doing as well. An O2R would be fine for cleaner jazz or acoustic style probably, but not so great for rock IMO. Some of the Soundcraft consoles were quite nice and can be picked up real cheap these days.
Pete Honychurch - Fluid Sound
http://www.myspace.com/PeteHonychurch

MI

« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2007, 11:02:01 AM »

Hi,

You'd definetly want a console with an analogue flavour to it if you're going to use ADAT's and doing Rock. The 02R had nice features, but IMHO not flattering sound wise.

I would not recomend a Mackie 8bus nor Behringer MX9000...