R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: My (work) life... up ended.  (Read 15197 times)

Allen Corneau

• Real Full Name: Allen Corneau
My (work) life... up ended.
« on: August 05, 2011, 05:48:23 PM »

Howdy folks,

I know I’ve been a bit come-and-go on the forums lately, and for that I apologize.

I have a new situation: As of August 1st, my boss (the owner of the studio) has reclassified me from an employee (W-2) to a subcontractor (1099). While that wouldn’t be a huge issue by itself he has also told me that at some point in the near future he will be closing down the studio completely.

So it looks like I’m now a freelance mastering engineer. Yea for me. :-\

I’ve never been in this situation so I’m looking for any friendly advice you could offer to help me out.

- I don’t really have any gear of my own, and I also don’t have the money/credit to buy a studio’s worth of gear, so setting up my own shop is out of the question right now.

- I’ve started talking to one other mastering studio in town about renting some room time but I could use some advice on how something like that is usually structured.

- I guess I need to hang out my own virtual shingle. What should I call it? “Allen Corneau Mastering”? Web page, Facebook, and all that crap?

The thrill of the unknown future... Ugh.
Allen
=====
Allen Corneau Mastering
http://allencorneau.com/

DOMC

• Real Full Name: Dominic McGlinn
  • DOMC Mastering
Re: My (work) life... up ended.
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 11:05:44 PM »

Best of luck and I hope it works out for you -where abouts are you situated.. maybe you could hit up some local audio colleges for teaching work to help in the mean time - I find it a great source of secondary income and its a darn rewarding job as well.
Domc

Mastering Engineer
Dominic McGlinn B.Mus.T. (Hons)

Margate, QLD
+61421961641

www.domc.com.au
[email protected]

PBM