R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie Recording Qs  (Read 1183 times)

Brian Gowing

Newbie Recording Qs
« on: December 19, 2006, 12:29:29 AM »

I'm going to apologize in advance for probably the most elementary of questions but I haven't been able to find the answer so I'm hoping that the experts here can help point me in the right direction.

I've been doing live sound for about 5 years, mainly churches. I've built myself a 500 sq. ft. recording studio at my house. I understand the signal chain process and the digital recording aspect of things.

But I'm confused by seeing that there are studios that use analog mixing boards to go into digital recordings. My assumption would be that if you're recording to individual tracks just going into the computer with a Firewire interface like a Firepod would give you the individual channel inputs into the software to enable you to mix on the computer after the fact.

So the questions are (assuming no computer generated MIDI instruments and say a typical 5 piece band consisting of drums, acoustic guitar, bass, electric, and vocals):

1. What is the advantage of using an analog mixer to bring the input into the computer?
2. If using an analog mixer does the mixing of the music happen prior to being brought into the computer (mixdown to stereo track?).
3. If using an analog mixer and bringing individual channels into the computer do you use the direct outs from each channel on the mixer to go into something like a Firepod or other AD-DA converter?
4. If you brought the individual tracks into the computer directly through a Firepod then you would do the mixing through a DAW correct? Which would be after the fact not during the recording?

Again I'm sorry if these are pretty rudimentary questions. I appreciate your help.

jetbase

Re: Newbie Recording Qs
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2006, 01:01:34 AM »

Hi Brian,