R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: J - What's your current set up?  (Read 4578 times)

Thomas Lester

J - What's your current set up?
« on: December 07, 2006, 01:36:21 PM »

Hey J -

If I recall... you recently ditched your analog desk to go ITB (or semi ITB).  I'm currently all ITB and debating on going hybrid (mix ITB, but use outboard inserts/sends) or implement a desk.

Can you tell us more about your current set up, why you went they direction you did, and how it's working out for you.

Thanks,
Thomas

j.hall

Re: J - What's your current set up?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2006, 11:01:57 AM »

i have a sterling modular mastering console now.  there is a pick of it floating around my forum somewhere.

i have three 12 space bays on an angle right in front of me, and three 6 space bays below them.

left rack

4 3 band sphere EQ modules (with space in the frame for 4 more if i can ever find some again)

sontec MEP-250EX 5 band EQ

vent space

SSL 384 stereo compressor

DBX 162 stereo compressor

Ashly SC-50

Ashly SC-50

Middle Rack

17" apple display with a marathon computer rack mount kit

Dorrough loudness VU meter (calibrated to my digi hardware to monitor mix level)

Monitor panel (stepped switch for acurrate left right monitoring, dim, mute, mono switches, and source 1 - 2 selector switch

right hand rack

ADC TT patchbay (2" 24 track I/O, PT I/O)

ADC TT patch bay (tie line to all outboard)

vent space

Focusrite Red 3 stereo compressor

Mytek DAC

the rest of this rack is currently empty.  a stereo mic pre will be added and more compression

lower left rack

middle atlantic RFI shielded rackmount power strip

Parasound CD player with SP/DIF output (i'll explain in a minute)

custom built rack drawer with 4 smokey amps in it.

middle lower rack

Adcom stereo amplifier (feeds the quested H108's and the velodyne sub)

right lower rack