R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: TEAC X-2000 R-courtesy of the USS &*%@#  (Read 4901 times)

juliandostoevsky

TEAC X-2000 R-courtesy of the USS &*%@#
« on: December 06, 2006, 07:52:56 PM »

SIr,

Well, I'm currently on the USS XXXX, which is in the process of being gutted out, decommissioned, possibly being sold to a foreign navy, but more than likely being sunk, in the middle of Pacific Ocean, thus becoming a steel coral reef for the life aquatic. I am an electrician/interior communication engineer, basically the audio/visual nerd of the ship, at least with it came to the interior communication part, we'd setup port briefs, award ceremonies, retirements and burials-at-sea, worked on speakers (1MC, 21MC, sound powered phones, sound powered amplifiers commonly referred to as "bitch boxes"), that's the boring part of my job, among other things, but that's another post for another forum. Most of our equipment is pretty much outdated, most ships are completely digitized, in fact, this ship has the classic distinction of being the oldest command in the Pacific Fleet, forty-two years she's been floating, the only thing the keeping her together is gray paint. The neat part of this job or rather was, were playing 8mm movies and music (which varied, at least when I played my music, though my supervisor was a dick-head and mostly played r&b and hip hop, which I'm an open-minded fan of, but to a certain extent and that's putting it mildly), plus running our T.V. satellite.