R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Compression? What's that?  (Read 4616 times)

pluto

Compression? What's that?
« on: September 26, 2006, 05:48:45 PM »

Hi, I don't know a thing about it, or almost any other.. thing. I'm just a bass guitarist you see, which I am very good at, but everything else, is just over my head. Anyway, I'm having to work with people in the music business who know soooo much more about... everything.

For instance, I have an amp, and a compressor, and an aural exiter, and all of those other things. Now, I don't know what any of them do, but I know that if I turn one knob this way, and one knob the other way, I get a sound that I like.

So, I'm standing there, listening to guys say, that needs more compression, this needs more reverb, and how about some of this some of that, and I don't know what they're talking about. I mean, this compressor I have, I don't even know what it does, and I can't even describe the difference it makes to my tone, although I know it's there, but all it does is 1, make my tone go quieter and deader, 2 nothing, or 3 make it louder and slightly distorted. Bassists always talk about this compression thing. So can anyone explain what it does, and how do you tell if something needs it? In a way that I can understand though, I mean, I found this on Wiki "A compressor reduces the dynamic range of an audio signal if its amplitude exceeds a threshold." I can't understand that...

archtop

Re: Compression? What's that?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2006, 11:57:42 PM »

As a start I'll go for the ratio part.

Lets say 3:1  or 3 to 1

If the original signal raises 3 db,  the compressor output will only let it rise 1 db,

if it rose 6 db the compressor output will show 2 db of rise.

Now if we were using 10:1 or 10 to 1 ratio