R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MOTU 828MKII troubles  (Read 5550 times)

neustation

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
MOTU 828MKII troubles
« on: November 20, 2005, 10:22:41 PM »

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 9:56 pm    Post subject: 828MKII LCD display shows "firmware upgrade"    

------------------------------------------------------------ --------------------

Hello,

I just got a 828MKII this past friday and have been having some trouble.

The first problem is if I turn off the unit and then turn it back on (also does this in stand alone mode) the LCD shows "firmware upgrade".
Does anyone know why it's doing this? Is this normal?

If I leave the unit off for several minutes it will start normally (I also did the factory reset thing and it will go into this firmware upgrade thing if i turn it on right away after the reset).

The second issue I have is audio dropouts which turns into static. This happens while playing a stereo track (yes one stereo track, only 2 channels of audio).

This happens when using DP 3.11 and with Peak 2.58.
I am using OS 9.2.2 with a B&W G3 upgraded to a G4 550Mhz,512MB RAM. with an acard ATA 100 to a seagate barracuda ATA100 7200rpm(audio only) , the OS is installed on the stock drive, apple ATA 33 built-in motherboard.

I am thinking that the B&W firewire ports may not be up to snuff and I am thinking of trying an PCI firewire card.
I am thinking that the A-Card ATA 100 may be causing the stuttering.
I am thinking that the 828MKII may be jacked up due to the weird start up issue that does not always happen.

Any ideas?

Should I return the 828MKII for a different unit and try it out?
Should I try the firewire PCI card thing?
Is the A-Card causing this stuttering?

Thank You for your help.

Robert
Logged

mon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: MOTU 828MKII troubles
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2006, 02:09:02 PM »

Wow, one year later and I see this. I've had the same problem for over a year now, too. Finally sick of turning the thing on and off and looking for an answer.
Logged

Dan Mc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
Re: MOTU 828MKII troubles
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2006, 03:22:52 PM »

I am not framiliar with the specific problem or unit
(i use the 24I/O)
have you tried the motu tech support directly
http://www.motu.com/techsupport

or there forums are sure a good start
http://www.unicornation.com/phpBB2/index.php
Logged

neustation

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: MOTU 828MKII troubles
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2006, 04:00:59 PM »

Hello,

WOW a year ago!

I did solve the problem.

I returned the 828MKII for a different unit, and I bought a second hand G4 DP 1Ghz. Since then no problems at all ( I am using DP 4.5 and Cubase LE, Also Logic 7).  
I guess my old B&W G3 had seen it day I still use it for some old programs on OS9.

Out,

Robert
Logged

phantom309

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2855
Re: MOTU 828MKII troubles
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2006, 05:16:47 PM »

Mine has been driving me CRAZY. The chain is: Dual G5, PCI 424 to 24 I/O and 828 Mk II. Logic 7, OS X 7.4, There is also a Focusrite 428 that is going via optical/adat to the 828. No matter WHAT clock source I choose or how much I isolate the 828, the clock seems to creep out of synch....slowly distortion comes in. If I reset any of the control panel stuff, it stops distorting for a few seconds then comes back in.

I spoke with the MOTU pss goons for an hour (after not getting through to anyone for 50 attempts) and they couldn't find a solution either. I guess I'm just not throwing enough salt over my shoulder when I turn the damned thing on.

Give me a tape machine problem ANYDAY.
Logged
Those that can't get carried away, should be.
http://www.audities.org
http://www.mellotron.com
http://www.myspace.com/auditiesrecording
David T. Kean

phantom309

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2855
Re: MOTU 828MKII troubles
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2006, 07:46:41 PM »

ooops....it's LOGIC version 7.4....Mac 10.4.7
Logged
Those that can't get carried away, should be.
http://www.audities.org
http://www.mellotron.com
http://www.myspace.com/auditiesrecording
David T. Kean

neustation

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: MOTU 828MKII troubles
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2006, 07:58:25 PM »

Hi,

You are running an 424 PCI card connected to the 24i and a 828MKII connected to a  firewire port?

I think you are having a clock problem between the 2 units.

You need to pick a "master clock", the 828MKII has word clock in and out, the 24i has a word clock in/out sharing the same connector. I would use the 24i as master, set the 828MKII clock to external and connect the "word clock in/out" of the 24i to the "word clock in" on the 828MKII.

Make sure to set the "clock source" of the 24i as "Internal" in the motu audio setup. Make sure to set the  "clock source" of the 828MKII to "word clock in" in the motu audio setup.

Also, Did you ask MOTU if it is recommended or possible to run the 828MKII and the 424 with the 24i at the same time. I would ask them this question right off the bat, you maybe trying to do something that is not technically possible. I am not sure first hand, I only run a 828MKII with external converters on adat/lightpipe.

I hope this solves your problem.

Out,

Robert

P.S. I just thought I remember reading that some G5 computers had a PCI /firewire problem look up your machine and see if it is one of the G5's with problems.
Logged

phantom309

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2855
Re: MOTU 828MKII troubles
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2006, 09:21:15 PM »

Hi neustation,

Yes, we've tried all of these things and more. The two units are the aggregate device that we use for all of our DAW stuff. The MOTU unit is just malfunctioning and we are sending it in to service next week. I have tried clocking it and clocking TO it in just about every possible way...but thanks a lot for taking the time to send your suggestions.
Logged
Those that can't get carried away, should be.
http://www.audities.org
http://www.mellotron.com
http://www.myspace.com/auditiesrecording
David T. Kean
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.041 seconds with 20 queries.