R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: UPC code ???  (Read 3534 times)

malice

UPC code ???
« on: October 26, 2006, 03:04:00 AM »

I was wondering,

I'm trying to put some order in my wife discography, and some company doing electronic difusion (hotels downloads, shops etc) are asking me for UPC and ISRC codes. I figured out how to read ISRC, but i have a question for UPC.

I was under the impression I had to have 12 digits under the barcode, but sometimes I have 13, like

one digit slightly before the bar code, and then prefix: 6 and sufix : 6 under the bar code.

What should I read ????

thanx in advance

malice

James Perrett

Re: UPC code ???
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2006, 08:55:37 AM »

It is down to the difference between 12 character US (UPC) codes and and 13 character European (EAN) codes. I'm no expert but I understand that there is a degree of compatibility between the two systems.

Cheers

James.
James Perrett - JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration.
http://www.jrpmusic.net

chrisj

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2006, 01:36:58 PM »

If it's 13 digits of UPC code there should be a leading zero...

malice

« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2006, 02:24:32 PM »

chrisj wrote on Thu, 26 October 2006 19:36

If it's 13 digits of UPC code there should be a leading zero...

I just understood that part.

Apparently, UPC codes should have complied from January 1 2005 to 13 digits code. But if you encode in itune, you can't put 13 digits.

So: can I drop the first digit from my EAN codes to meet the requierement of UPC coding ?

Oh my, this is complicated.

Very Happy

malice

chrisj

« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2006, 06:34:11 PM »

malice wrote on Thu, 26 October 2006 14:24

So: can I drop the first digit from my EAN codes to meet the requierement of UPC coding ?
Very Happy

Well... there you have me Very Happy