R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The reality of Chicago internships?  (Read 4108 times)

TRA

The reality of Chicago internships?
« on: October 11, 2006, 01:14:00 PM »

Is it possible to obtain an intership in the Chicago area without having a degree or formal training?  I've called a few places, and was told that they get their interns solely from Columbia College, and they don't consider anyone without a formal education.  

I've been recording for about 5 years, and I have a lot to learn.  I understand that the recording business isn't a money maker, but I'm not worried about that.  I have a 9 to 5. All of my spare time is either spent reading books, reading these forums, or recording bands, and it has been that way since I started tinkering 5 years ago.  I just really want the opportunity to learn.

I couldn't afford to go to college or Full Sail so the little money I did have went into gear and books.  It is a long story why I couldn't afford school...it's not a cop out...it's actually quite sad. I'll save the sob story, and leave it at that.

I want the experience of learning how to calibrate a tape machine, use a large format console, listen to audio in a correct space.....I want to learn everything that is put in front of me.  

What do you guys think is the best way to go about this?  I was considering just booking a studio with one of my clients and be a fly on the wall.  Unfortunately, I would like more than a session worth of time to absorb everything.  

I know that the state of the business is shaky at best, and there are interns left & right trying to get their feet in the door.  That is why I'm here.  I need your advice.  So far the cold calling method hasn't worked. Some people have been really polite with their rejections, and one made me regret taking my band to his studio.  

Any help?  

Fibes