R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CCIR with 30ips AES MRL?  (Read 3031 times)

drumsound

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 638
CCIR with 30ips AES MRL?
« on: July 21, 2006, 01:07:24 pm »

I know this can be done.  I can't remember where I saw it but I know you can align a tape machine for 15ips CCIR using a 30ips AES MRL.  What is the procedure?  

Thanks all,

Logged

electrical

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 674
Re: CCIR with 30ips AES MRL?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2006, 07:58:47 pm »

Just play it at half speed and you're golden.

If there isn't a 20kHz tone on the 30ips tape (plays back at 10kHz at 15), you'll be aligning the HF playbeck eq at 5kHz from the "10kHz" tone, which isn't ideal, so you'll wnat to do a HF sweep while in the record calibration phase and make fine adjustments there.

Otherwise, it's normal procedure.
Logged
best,

steve albini
Electrical Audio
sa at electrical dot com
www.electrical.com

wwittman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7712
Re: CCIR with 30ips AES MRL?
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2006, 01:02:40 am »

that's exactly right... but you DO need CCIR  EQ in the machine.

that is, you cannot just align playback with an AES tape at half speed and record with the 'regular' NAB 15ips EQ and think that's CCIR.
it isn't.

on some machines there was a trick by which you could jump the 30ips EQ in to work at 15ips, thereby creating 15 AES (almost exactly like CCIR)

but if you have a CCIR option on the machine but no CCIR test tape, the above mentioned method works fine.
Logged
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...)

drumsound

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 638
Re: CCIR with 30ips AES MRL?
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2006, 02:59:01 am »

The machine has the option, I just don't have a 15ips CCIR tape.

Thanks guys!
Logged

drumsound

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 638
Re: CCIR with 30ips AES MRL?
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2006, 04:49:39 am »

So, do I overbias as if 15ips or 30ips.  I'm a bit confused by the statement that CCIR is almost AES and that you can (on some machines) jump the 30ips EQ to the 15ips section.
Logged

electrical

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 674
Re: CCIR with 30ips AES MRL?
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2006, 01:00:54 am »

The eq setting doesn't change the bias requirement. Bias should be set the same way as always.
Logged
best,

steve albini
Electrical Audio
sa at electrical dot com
www.electrical.com

drumsound

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 638
Re: CCIR with 30ips AES MRL?
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2006, 12:50:21 pm »

Thanks Steve,  

Thats what I thought.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up