R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mastering... The Beginning.  (Read 9689 times)

Aka Nameless

Mastering... The Beginning.
« on: July 23, 2006, 05:27:10 PM »

I'de like to hear how all of the Mastering Engineers got into this game, and at what point did you feel confident in charging for your services?

I actually stumbled into the mastering world one day when I went to a friend from work's studio. I had been playing guitar and writing lyrics for a good 10 years and I had been learning the art of recording/mixing for a little over a year at that point, so when I went to his studio, I was eager to learn some new recording/mixing tricks...

When I arrived he gave me a quick tour of his studio, then he said he had to finish up mastering an album and that I may find the process interesting. So we went to his little mastering room, a 9' x 9' box with auralex "I know, I know.." covering the walls, a desk "creation station from guitar center" near the middle of the room, 2 chairs, and the heart of the room, a pair of BM6A's, and Hafler amp.. I think it was a P3000. I asked why he had no analog gear in this room, and he said that the signal goes through enough analog gear in the recording stage. I bought it, it was my first mastering experience after all.

So he gets to mastering the album, he was mostly done with the album, but he gave me a quick run through of the process. I don't know what it was, but somewhere between the eq and the fading I was hooked...

Since that day, to learn the Mastering trade was what I wanted. I have read Mr. Katz' book 3 or 4 times (that book is very hard to shallow first pass), read every other book that talks about mastering in any way, done countless hours of research on the internet about mastering, or more importantly the differences of using eq, comp, etc. on the stereo mix, instead of on individual instruments.