R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Creating music for new playback mediums...  (Read 823 times)

Peter

Creating music for new playback mediums...
« on: June 29, 2006, 02:45:48 AM »

Should we start to think of mixing for future mediums and their dynamic capabilities NOW? I'm a young musician.engineer.producer, but have a pretty good knowledge of sonics and of quality with music playback. Do others feel that DVD audio has the same capabilities to transfer the listener to the places a good vinyl disc on a class A turntable with Blackbird cart does?
My gut tells me there is real potential there with this. Something about listening to even a 2nd, 3rd, or even 4th gen master tape transporting me places no computer could.

DVD though, the capabilities seems very appealing.

Confusing, with all the new formats....

DVD audio, Blu-ray, Blu-ray sound, and the old adage of DVD w/ ambisonics????

How are you professionals tackling these efforts?

Who is tackling these new technologies and how are you utilizing them?

Its so easy to get bogged down in techno babble but CDs are more than dead as a musically playback medium,  and people WILL get tired of mp3 wanting more out of music. Give it a couple of years....

Curious, lets discuss..

maxim

Re: Creating music for new playback mediums...
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2006, 03:36:36 AM »

i think people will listen through whatever medium they find in their loungeroom

if it's a dvd player, then it's pretty easy to pop in a disc and listen

if the player can read cd's, great; dvd's, fine; mp3's, sure; aac, whatever

what i doubt is that the format will change significantly, except for the continuing shift towards anthologies, podcast style (the new radio)