R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Creating A Website.  (Read 2594 times)

Aka Nameless

Creating A Website.
« on: June 27, 2006, 06:28:39 PM »

Hello fellow engineers. I've been practicing mastering for a few years now, and i'm ready to start up an online mastering buisiness. Problem is, this will be the first web site i've ever built/bought so i'm pretty confused as to what I need, or where to go to buy my site. I will be doing unattended online mastering for the time being, and well, i'm not really sure where to start...

Do I need to go to city hall to register my company name and buy a tax license before I start? I think FTP transferring will be nice to use instead of mail, so I want a site with FTP. What web site builder is most user friendly? Where should I buy the domain name from if I want to pay by the month? Are there any things that are commonly overlooked when starting an internet buisiness?

Sorry if these sound like stupid questions, just not sure were to start. Another dumb question.. how do you pay sales tax, etc. with an online buisiness?

Thanks,
Colin.

MASSIVE Mastering

Re: Creating A Website.
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2006, 06:42:27 PM »

The web stuff is generally easy -

The business stuff is another story - You should visit with a business advisor or a *local* CPA along with whatever regs you can find from your local municiplaity concerning home-based businesses (assuming this will be home-based - You don't want to piss off the mayor).

Quote:

Are there any things that are commonly overlooked when starting an internet buisiness?

YES!!!
John Scrip
Massive Mastering - Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.), IL - USA

Aka Nameless

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2006, 07:07:35 PM »

Found a website that explains the laws of being self-employed in my city "San Diego"..

http://www.danielgreene.com/lawresep.html