R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Finding an ME to work with.  (Read 2169 times)

A. Daly

Finding an ME to work with.
« on: June 25, 2006, 09:57:10 PM »

I'm pretty much as inexperienced as you can get, As a small bit of background I've been working as a Live / FoH engineer for over 10 years, and have recently started to make a move into studio recording / mixing by opening a painfully modest studio and getting "hands-on" to learn as much as I can. (I've lots of previous recording / mixing experience as an ex-musician myself too, however I discount that pretty much as taking that as valuable experience seems like a patient using his experiences of illness as a qualification to practice medicine Razz)

Because of my current inexperience, and lack of competitive facilities as a starting point I'm probably what many here consider a "Bottom Feeder", however have been fortunate to it the ground running and being busy enough to work and learn fairly fast.

Due to the market sector I'm aiming at, I'm finding it difficult to get bands to understand the value of spending just a touch more to take my mixes to an established ME, however some have shown an interest after explaining what an ME does and the difference in quality they could possibly get by using one rather than having me give them something mastered (haha!) in-house and ready to  dupe-with-a-PC-to-sell-at-gigs.

I'd like to find some way of establishing some kind of working relationship with an ME for as I'm sure that it will help me learn to mix better tracks, will give the band better VFM, even if it does increase their budget slightly and lastly whilst I'm fairly confident about my mixing ability and potential I'm not so confident when it comes to the rough-and-ready treatment my mixes get when it comes time to master them. (Master is the wrong term in my case, Butcher is probably closer Razz)