R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Building DI Box  (Read 7679 times)

fezzle

• Real Full Name: Dave Ferrier
Building DI Box
« on: May 16, 2011, 05:35:19 PM »

Hi people,
               I'm just writing to anyone who might be able to help me with a a small project I want to do, to build my own DI box.  I have a DAW setup at home , and want to build a standard style box that has a Hi Z input and a 600Ohm output for my Mic Pre's. BUT also was wondering if its possible to have a line level input and output in the box too.  I have spotted a rare UTC transformer I want to use because apparently they sound excellent,  which is high Z to low Z , but is it possible to run line level in and out of it to get the same isolation and characteristics, or would I need another transformer?  I am very new to all of this sort of stuff , and dont really know what else I would need,  any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated!! I kind of want the box to have some moderate colour i guess from the design

Cheers!!  Dave

Barry Hufker

Re: Building DI Box
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 11:42:12 PM »

Hi Dave,

I can't answer all your questions, but I can help a little bit.  My students recently built D.I. boxes based on different transformers.  This meant creating a "look" for the box, a layout and then building/testing them.  The parts used were the Cinemag CM-DBX, the Jensen JT-DB-E, the Lundahl 1530, the Lundahl 1935 and the Sowter 4243 transformers.  You can see and hear the results here.  http://prorecordingworkshop.lefora.com/2011/05/24/di-boxes/#post2

The audio examples should give you a pretty good idea about the "color" of each transformer.  The photo may not be completely revealed without clicking on it.

Barry

klett

« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2011, 10:52:37 AM »

transformer is easiest