R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Working at home  (Read 8050 times)

Viitalahde

• Real Full Name: Jaakko Viitalähde
Working at home
« on: May 04, 2011, 02:34:38 AM »

I would like to continue with the discussion, started in this topic:

http://recforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/t/33264/0/

Now that I've been working at home for a few months now, some thoughts have come up.

I certainly enjoy doing this, and I have had no problem in having the job in the same yard my spare time is. I still keep the weekends off, and only on rare occasions I work during the weekends - mostly in cases where a friend needs something urgent done.

Naturally, the amount of unattanded sessions has gone up, but I haven't been all alone here. I have an attended session almost every week, sometimes twice a week. A typical drive for these clients is about 1,5 - 2,5 hours, and while it seems like a big deal to me to drive for 3-5 hours a day for a session that lasts for 5-6 hours, they don't do it every day, perhaps not even on yearly basis. Clients will be served with coffee/tea, some sort of snacks and water, but lunch I won't be serving here.

SInce I didn't build a client lounge of any kind for the studio, they use the toilet in our house, which is a few meters away from the studio. Luckily, the toilet is located so that they don't have to walk all around our house, and we can keep doors to the other rooms closed. Having clients walking around has not been a problem to me, and my wife doesn't seem too bothered either. The sessions also usually happen when she's at her workplace., so it's minimum interference with our daily lives.