R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: really simple signal flow/monitoring question  (Read 2802 times)

MoreSpaceEcho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« on: May 18, 2006, 04:26:35 PM »

hi,

i'm sorry to bother you guys with such a rudimentary question...i posted on the wavelab forum, but that place seems to be something of a ghost town these days, so here goes...

i'm using wavelab 5. DA converters are a DAC1 and a lavry DA10, both fed via lynx aes16. i want to use the benchmark to feed the analog stuff, go back into the DAW via lavry blue AD, and monitor via the DA10. all of this works fine except for the monitor via the DA10 part. i get nothin'.

i should be able to do this, right?

in the lynx mixer i have the outputs for the lavry being fed by both "play1" and "record1"...i figured one of those should do it, but no.

i tried using 'live input' in wavelab to no avail. the manual states that when you click on that, a dialogue box should come up, but once again, i got nothin'.

shirley there's something simple i am missing here?

thank you,
scott
Logged

Dave Davis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 437
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2006, 10:18:48 PM »

The simplest place to start is clock: Assuming the Lavry Blue A/D or the DAC1 are the master, the DA10 should and Wavelab/Lynx should both be slaved/clocked to that source.

-d-
Logged

Ed Littman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 877
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2006, 11:12:23 PM »

 i'm not fimilure with the lynx cards or mixers, but years a go i had problems playing & monitoring the capture with one instance of wavelab & one rme card. my fix was to get a second sound card & capture with that in a second instance of wavelab.
not sure if that helps you.
Ed

Logged

Thomas W. Bethel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1811
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2006, 07:53:53 AM »

I think you should upgrade to WL6. With the upgrade is a special feature that allows you to do EXACTLY what you want to do. The "live input" on WL5 was designed to allow you to feed a live input back into WL for processing. The new WL6 feature allows you to use a piece or pieces of equipment as plug in the MASTER section. You can read about it on the WL forum or here http://www.steinberg.net/134+M52087573ab0.html
Logged
-TOM-

Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

MoreSpaceEcho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2006, 09:32:48 AM »

thanks guys.

i was hoping there was a way to do this without spending more money but oh well. thomas, how are you liking wavelab 6? is it less buggy than WL5? i find 5 buggy in a way that 3 was not. i still love it, it just seems a little weird at times.

scott
Logged

Ed Littman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 877
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2006, 10:29:10 AM »

i have WL6 but using WL5 cause i need live input as part of my chain.
WL6 does not have live input any more but as Tom said has a more robust features to replace it. unfortunatly these new features require the asio drivers that my current rme cards don't work with. so untill i upgrade to a new card i'm still using WL5.
it'a been rock solid for me.

Tom did you get the new aes card the we spoke about?

Ed
Logged

mbruce333

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2006, 11:00:51 AM »

I second the vote to move to WL6.  I just started using WL, so I can't compare it to WL5, but so far, 6 works great!  The External Gear plug, and the Smart Bypass are worth it right there.  I haven't really checked out the Spectrum Editor yet, but I've hear awesome things about it...new toys are fun!  To use the External Gear plug, you do have to have ASIO drivers, though.  

Mike Bruce
Logged
Mike Bruce
myspace.com/auricleaudiomastering

MoreSpaceEcho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2006, 11:58:42 AM »

ed, if you have a sec, how do you use live input in your setup?
Logged

zetterstroem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2006, 12:17:13 PM »

MoreSpaceEcho wrote on Thu, 18 May 2006 22:26

shirley there's something simple i am missing here?


who's shirley??  Very Happy
Logged
Noting the music industry's complaints that illegal downloading means people are getting their music for free, he said, "Well, why not? It ain't worth nothing anyway." (b.dylan)

Thomas W. Bethel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1811
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2006, 12:50:22 PM »

MoreSpaceEcho wrote on Fri, 19 May 2006 09:32

thanks guys.

i was hoping there was a way to do this without spending more money but oh well. thomas, how are you liking wavelab 6? is it less buggy than WL5? i find 5 buggy in a way that 3 was not. i still love it, it just seems a little weird at times.

scott


I am liking it a lot.

It is very stable and it can do some really amazing things that it was not able to do before in previous versions. I think it is another good version of WL and PG, the author, deserves his kudos.


Logged
-TOM-

Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Thomas W. Bethel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1811
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2006, 12:52:38 PM »

Ed Littman wrote...

Tom did you get the new aes card the we spoke about?

Nope not yet we are still waiting for the next fiscal year before we purchase anything new.
Logged
-TOM-

Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Ed Littman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 877
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2006, 01:29:56 PM »

MoreSpaceEcho wrote on Fri, 19 May 2006 11:58

ed, if you have a sec, how do you use live input in your setup?


when capturing using the second sound card & insatance of wavelab I'll use live input to strap a plugin/limiter/additional gain, etc. in the master section so to capture on input.
Ed
Logged

MoreSpaceEcho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
Re: really simple signal flow/monitoring question
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2006, 02:41:36 PM »

gotcha.

thanks again guys.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 21 queries.