R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is it ready for Mastering?  (Read 1471 times)

Skip

Is it ready for Mastering?
« on: April 23, 2006, 11:22:40 AM »

Warning - mp3

Razz

I'm no mastering engineer, so I'll turn this over to you pros. Our band went to local studio and recorded this track:

http://www.psychophobia.net/Get%20Away.mp3

Is it ready for mastering or does this track have "issues"?

Your feedback would be most welcome
Skip
You CAN polish a turd...

Ronny

Re: Is it ready for Mastering?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2006, 11:54:13 AM »

I'd say that it's ready, mix sounds balanced on my system listening at a comfortable level. However, your peak is under -9dB and RMS averages -17dB. I did an overall gain increase, IOW, no compression, just turned up the gain to -.3dB, your RMS is now at -7dB. Obviously you weren't compressing to achieve perceived leveling, otherwise peak gain wouldn't be down to -9dB. IMHO, if you would have left a little more footroom, not headroom (peak), but lower RMS, the ME would have a better file to work with. The tune could be mastered as is, but leaving a bit more RMS, say -12dB and the ME, in my case anyway, will be able to get more clarity when final perceived leveling is applied.
------Ronny Morris - Digitak Mastering------
---------http://digitakmastering.com---------
----------Powered By Experience-------------
-------------Driven To Perfection---------------

Pingu

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2006, 12:28:34 PM »

Quote:

I did an overall gain increase

How did you do this Ronny?

Quote:

if you would have left a little more footroom, not headroom (peak), but lower RMS, the ME would have a better file to work with. The tune could be mastered as is, but leaving a bit more RMS, say -12dB and the ME, in my case anyway, will be able to get more clarity when final perceived leveling is applied.