R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: wavelab faders  (Read 2187 times)

soundroid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
wavelab faders
« on: April 18, 2011, 08:34:34 pm »

Quick question re. the 'faders' in the Wavelab montage.
I've found that the channel faders in the montage are really finicky.
In fact there are times that I cannot set the fader to the desired amount.
for eg. if I want to set the channel at -6.42dBs, it will only allow me to set it at
6.3? quite annoying really.
is there a way to give these faders more of a 'fine' control?

Joe

p.s. I'm using WL5
Logged

DOMC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
  • Real Full Name: Dominic McGlinn
  • DOMC Mastering
Re: wavelab faders
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2011, 10:46:51 pm »

is there a way to double click on the numerical value and type your own in?
Logged
Domc
 
Mastering Engineer
Dominic McGlinn B.Mus.T. (Hons)
 
Margate, QLD
+61421961641
 
www.domc.com.au
dom@domc.com.au

soundroid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: wavelab faders
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2011, 11:42:33 pm »

not on the version I'm using Domenic.
Logged

MoreSpaceEcho

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: wavelab faders
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2011, 11:48:38 pm »

click the 'files' tab, select the file you want, on the right side of the screen there's a box for 'gain' where you can type in the exact value you want. in WL6 anyway, i think it's the same in WL5.

soundroid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: wavelab faders
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2011, 12:38:51 am »

awesome man. thank you.
be great if they could get the faders to increment in 0.1dB steps.
Logged

MoreSpaceEcho

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: wavelab faders
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2011, 01:38:24 am »

wait, i misunderstood, you're talking about the track faders? i thought you meant the volume envelopes on the clips, sorry. the track faders are a little fussy, yeah. i never use them in mastering though, i just change the gain on the individual clips when necessary.

Thomas W. Bethel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 319
  • Real Full Name: Thomas W. Bethel
  • When only the best will do.
Re: wavelab faders
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2011, 06:25:27 am »

Most times if you push the Shift key in you can get finer control on most applications. I have never tried it on WL but It may work. I will try it today.
Logged
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 23 years in business in 2018

Greg Reierson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
Re: wavelab faders
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2011, 09:21:06 am »

i never use them in mastering though, i just change the gain on the individual clips when necessary.

Same. 6-7 years with Wavelab and I've never touched the master or track faders.


GR
Logged
Greg Reierson
Rare Form Mastering

Ed Littman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Real Full Name: Ed Littman
Re: wavelab faders
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2011, 01:50:16 am »

those faders suck...simple :o

Ed
Pages: [1]   Go Up