R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: 1 for the Wave Burner users.  (Read 3173 times)

The Watcher

1 for the Wave Burner users.
« on: April 10, 2006, 01:01:24 PM »

Hello all,

Aigit, Im a mix engineer not a mastering engineer so please bear with my method here, it has been working well for me and I am in no way trying to self master, I use "Real" Mastering engineers such as Brad or others at sterling or sony on everyting eventually.

I mix mainly Hiphop, R&B, and Pop records for a combination of local and major label urban acts and I really feel that getting a hot premaster out to the client is very important in the mix approval process.  "Quiet" CDs just dont "feel" the same in the truck as MASTERS.  Despite what everyone says about just turning the volume knob up to hear it loud it is NOT the same, and when your mix approval is coming form the way that cd sounds in the truck you can start to see my problem.

Also, with the trend of LOUD masters there is a damage factor happening to the audio that is un avodable, I think we can all agree on that point.  With Labels and client demanding LOUD cds I really dont see myself as having an option but to embrase it and try to make the best of the situation for now.