R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?  (Read 9380 times)

chai t

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Real Full Name: chai tamai
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #30 on: May 02, 2011, 09:52:51 pm »

Anybody chiming in on metric halo interfaces?
Logged

bkuijt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #31 on: May 03, 2011, 07:24:36 am »

Anybody chiming in on metric halo interfaces?

I'd have bought one by now if they had windows drivers
Logged
Bastiaan Kuijt  //  BK Audio  //  www.bkaudio.nl

Table Of Tone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #32 on: May 03, 2011, 06:20:48 pm »

Lynx AES16e for PB (Mac Pro)
Lynx L22 for capture (AudioCube)
Logged

Tim Boyce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #33 on: May 03, 2011, 07:19:23 pm »

Yup.

 Metric Halo/Sonic Studios, and RME here.


   I too used to be a PC kid . . .   I actually bought a mac (or 3) just so I could use the MH boxes.

chai t

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Real Full Name: chai tamai
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #34 on: May 10, 2011, 04:09:38 am »

so what do you think of them so far, tim? which interface did you get? i bought a 2882 last year and my laptop/logic/2882 system trumps my PT HD/192 system. it's so good i can't believe it's not more popular.
Logged

pgisclair

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Real Full Name: Perry Gisclair
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #35 on: May 13, 2011, 11:05:36 pm »

Lynx AES16e.  Rock Solid here.   8)
Logged

KAyo

  • R/E/P Forums
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 237
  • Real Full Name: KAyo
  • Business Videos 24/7
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #36 on: May 17, 2011, 04:43:26 pm »

Hmm, that's a lot of RME's here. :P

Me too, I am using RME 800FW here. Stable and crisp.

Ciao'
KAyo
Logged
www.kantabiz.com
Business Video Directory

bkuijt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #37 on: May 17, 2011, 06:39:59 pm »

Another RME AES-32 with Pyramix or Wavelab and a Mykerinos/Pyramix system overhere.
Zero problems with the hardware.
I really like AES connections for their patchabilty and robustness.

I'd keep an RME card, even if it was just for the Digicheck metering software.


 
Logged
Bastiaan Kuijt  //  BK Audio  //  www.bkaudio.nl

Jerry Tubb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 172
  • Real Full Name: Jerry Tubb
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #38 on: May 18, 2011, 09:15:44 am »

Just a quick note to my friends on the forum.

Yesterday I installed Pro Tools 9 on my Snow Leopard Mac Pro mastering DAW for occasional multitrack needs.

Upon boot, PT9 immediately worked with the Lynx AES16e card without any configuration, using the settings I already had with the Lynx mixer and soundBlade. No PT hardware needed, I started recording immediately, glitch free.

I was impressed, it was the easiest thing ~ever~ in 25 years of DAW installations, was expecting a hassle, but none appeared!

Another round of mega-kudos for Lynx (and er Avid I suppose for jail-breaking PT).

JT
Logged
Terra Nova Mastering
Celebrating 25 years of Mastering!

Tim Boyce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: What interface are you using to get in/out of your DAW?
« Reply #39 on: May 18, 2011, 06:56:37 pm »

@chai t

 sorry for the long delay in response. Just saw your post.

I use a ULN8 at the studio, and a Sonic 302 at home.

I had a ULN2 and 2882 before that. (both legacy, then upgraded to 2D). 


I like the routing ability. It does things I haven't seen any other system do. (well I have, but not as easily).

RME total mix can behave similarly, but it's still not as flexible as the MH 2D mixer.


I like the +DSP effects, and can program lots of parallel sends, and custom stuff. Sounds great. Amazing for mastering, amazing for tracking, amazing for FOH venue processing .. no matter where I find myself, a MIO unit let's me make it better.

I also had a ULN2 and Spectrafoo in a past life on a national tour. Foo'ed a new room everyday .. made system tuning 100 times faster. (get your house delay right, *everything* falls into place). I got to go wander the new town, and actually sit and eat dinner most night. (well, some nights).


MH is my DA, and a DCS is my AD. I just use the RME stuff to get digital into the PC rig. No analog conversion there. The MH stuff just sounds way better. 
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Up