R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Is Engineer Still a Proper Title?  (Read 16412 times)

John Ivan

Re: Is Engineer Still a Proper Title?
« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2006, 09:36:20 PM »

SAE Laughing
"Transformation is no easy trick: It's what art promises and usually doesn't deliver." Garrison Keillor

Ronny

« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2006, 11:50:22 PM »

jimmyjazz wrote on Mon, 20 February 2006 13:03

I am an engineer by education.  I have both bachelor's and masters degrees in mechanical engineering from accredited US universities.

I am not a Professional Engineer; i.e., I cannot stamp drawings.

I know acoustics, engineering physics, math.  I know gain structure.  I know what kind of microphone helps augment a certain tonal characteristic, or perhaps reject a sound I want rejected.  I know where to put microphones.

I read music, and can play a whole bunch of instruments at a decent level and a couple better than that.  I read people, too.  I think I run sessions efficiently and help create environments with good vibe and low stress.

I'm often wrong.

All that having been said, I couldn't fix a dead amp if you spotted me the schematic, a soldering tech, and some divine intervention.

Do I count?

If someone bitches that you aren't board certified, you can tell him where to put the microphone. That's a professional qualification in my book.    Very Happy

------Ronny Morris - Digitak Mastering------
---------http://digitakmastering.com---------
----------Powered By Experience-------------
-------------Driven To Perfection---------------

rankus

« Reply #17 on: February 21, 2006, 02:28:16 AM »

The SAEPSW Wink
Rick Welin - Clark Drive Studios http://www.myspace.com/clarkdrivestudios

Ive done stuff I'm not proud of.. and the stuff I am proud of is disgusting ~ Moe Sizlack