R/E/P > Klaus Heyne's Mic Lab Stickies

Mic/Pre impedance "matching"- What Are The Rules?

(1/4) > >>

klaus:
From an inquiry by a poster whose name was redacted:

Originally Posted: Fri, 15 September 2006

Much attention has been given to finding the optimum impedance match between a microphone and preamp, especially with the rise of impedance-selectable pres.

Working with a wide range of both mics and pres, I am wondering how one determines - from a technical perspective - which pre would best suit a specific microphone?

The base research that I have done yields guidelines, such as: "the input impedance of the pre should be 10x the source impedance of the mic..."

Sonic factors notwithstanding, what are the "rules" for impedance matching?

maarvold:
Although I'm not an expert, I will tell you one thing Steve Hogan told me.  Steve redesigned much of the current line of Jensen Transformers and works on all of my gear.  Klaus, if you feel it's necessary, I will see if I can get Steve to post this same information (although certainly in a more accurate and concise form).  Steve said:
Any mic preamp that uses a Jensen [input] Transformer, or a similarly-purposed microphone input transformer, will exhibit high frequency ringing when using any of the modern Neumann [transformerless] mics--the ones that have a 50 Ohm output impedance.  That would include TLM170, TLM193, KM140, KM184, M149, TLM103, TLM193, TLM49, TLM67 and TLM50.  These microphones must be loaded differently to avoid the ringing. 
I have had Steve add a Lo-Z switch to all of my preamps that fit this description (14 channels). 

John Roberts {JR}: